The #Philosophy Review Nov, 26 2016steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the first edition of the #Philosophy Review! I am still building a mission/vision for this project, but wanted to jump into recommending some great philosophical thinking on Steemit.

The #Philosophy Review is a subjective survey of posts in #Philosophy. The goal of the review is to bring more exposure to high quality Philosophy posts and foster discussion. While this list is entirely the opinion of its author, I welcome tips on articles I may have missed and debate about what was included and excluded.

Selections for November 26, 2016:

3 Breakdance principles useful in everyday life
https://steemit.com/life/@ikigai/3-breakdance-principles-useful-in-everyday-life
Part pratical advice, part zen. @ikigai brings both life lessons and practical applications of philosophical thinking.

From Information To Consciousness
https://steemit.com/consciousness/@clains/from-information-to-consciousness
I will admit that phenomenology and qualia is something I gave the old brush off to in my philosophy of mind courses. In college I was obsessed with skepticism (still am to a large extent). @clains gives rigorous discussion of the phenomenology information and consciousness. I’m inspired to pick up my old brains and behavior texts again.

Perfect reviews of perfect movies - The Sunset Limited. Can we be happy without any faith?
https://steemit.com/movies/@writingamigo/perfect-reviews-of-perfect-movies-the-sunset-limited-can-we-be-happy-without-any-faith
Great review of what sounds like a mind bending film. I am already adding “The Sunset Limited” to my queue. Thanks @writingamigo !

Sort:  

Great initiative! Daily is perhaps a bit often? :)

I have been debating with myself about the cadence. Weekly seems like it may not be often enough with the amount of posts that come through per day, unless it's a list of 10 or 15 articles.

Figured i would try to keep up with small daily posts, but wondering if 2 or 3 times per week might make sense.

2-3 per week is probably good :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76