Dec. 26, 2019: A Property Viewing and an Annular Solar Eclipse Photo FAIL! 💔

in #philippines4 years ago (edited)

Guess what? There was an annular solar eclipse today! Good thing I was able to go out before lunch time! 😄



What is an Annular Solar Eclipse?

This means the moon is smaller than the sun when they both align. This causes a ring of light to show the outline of the moon against the sun in the sky.

j5s1dm.pngvia Pixabay



So What Happened Today?

Only two things happened today, one good and one bad. Well the latter is not devastating but it's not amazing so it's bad. 💔 Not evil bad but sad bad.

I'll start with the good stuff...

I woke up early today to prepare for a property viewing. My client set an appointment today for them to check inside the gates.

At first, I thought they forgot about me. Hey I was texting them while I was on the way until I got to the place but they never replied at all. 🙃 So I waited past the appointment schedule. Thought I'd give them an hour at most.

Good thing I had something else I planned to do there. To pass the time I hung my "old" banner of The Residences at The Westin Manila Sonata Place. Check it out. 😄

h5y1ohzpd7.jpg

My phone numbers aren't as big as I'd like though. See I usually use it at various places meant for close interaction and not for far viewing.

6x08vh.png

However since I don't do any booth manning or join bazaars anymore, might as well use it another way instead of it being a waste of space at home. 😂

I'm not going to print any new one so it's fine, hopefully. I have a 7 ft tall variant too but I don't think it's the right size for this place. Am still looking for a place to display or hang it on...

oh.

Eureka! 💡

But wait!!! 😲 I just realized something! Haha!!! I know where to hang the bigger banner! Wait... lemme just finish this part then I'll tell you about it.

Eherrrrm. So after hanging that thing at the gate, I called my client. Well she wasn't answering. Hmmmm. It got me thinking, were they kidding when they said they wanted to view the house or no? I mean, it's not a total waste that I went there if they don't show up... 🤔

And so I sent another text/sms telling them we'll be leaving in an hour. Then we waited. Still nothing. I talked to the old caretaker/maintenance guy and finally got myself a duplicate key to the place. Alright!

xkw02e0alm.jpg

Still waiting. Hmmm. I decided to call again and this time a guy answered. Oh hey, seems like they forgot about the appointment. Told me they were gonna be right over in a few minutes. Good thing they live nearby.

While waiting for them to arrive I crossed the street to take some pictures of my banner. Then I remembered there's a solar eclipse around lunch time! Oh perfect timing! It's almost that time of day so I better take some pictures.

Hey look, clouds.

b6v8lr.png

Next thing I knew a car was pulling up near me. Well hello my dear client and family. 😀 So then I show them around the old house to give them an idea of the size of the area. We then talked about it and said our goodbyes.

Upon going home, while waiting for a jeepney to Muñoz, I remembered to check if it's still cloudy. I was hoping to take a picture of the solar eclipse. Facebook is abuzz with eclipse photos. Ugh.

Look at that. Hello clouds, again.

2rfq70.png

What a disappointment eh?

However, since this is the good news part, let me just say the people I met earlier seems to be seriously considering to buy this property immediately. Yay! I so love the thought of it. God is good indeed! I know the right client will never hesitate on buying the right property. ❤



The bad news...

Before I went home, I went by the store I mentioned in yesterday's post. This time I saw the store "window" was open but the store door was closed. It had a big faded and old tarpaulin cover too. The lady let me in and I asked to buy 20 bottles but sadly they didn't have enough superfoods juice for me to send to my grandma abroad.

Since it's the holidays, I also know it might get lost on the way by mail if I did buy some now. We all know how hectic and problematic holiday shipping is right? I said I'll just buy next month after the holidays and bought 3 bottles for myself.

By the time I got home it was already dark. I ate some pizza from yesterday and idly browsed my Facebook newsfeed. What do I see but my friends and strangers sharing more eclipse photos! Heck even my bro posted he saw the eclipse! WHAAAT!?!?

Oh envy, envy was telling me to ask him how he was able to see it on such a cloudy day!? How unfair! He told me he had time to go outside and look up. He saw it for a few seconds while the clouds were moving over it. Damn!

Here's the clincher:

I found out you have to use a filter in order to actually SEE the eclipse!!! You also have to use a photo filter in order to take a photo of it. Fck. Clearly I am no photographer!!! Oh the shame. 😫 💔

For sure I am too ingrained in my real estate career that I'm not taking photography seriously at all! Yes I won't deny it's been years (or more than a decade?) since I've taken it seriously. Even if I have several photography units in college I don't remember being taught how to take a photo of a solar eclipse. Oh the horror. 😣😭 Who teaches it, right? Only those who regularly take photos of whatever's in the sky would know it, right?

If I had known I needed a filter, I probably would have had a photo of the annular solar eclipse.

Shut.

the.

front.

Door!!!

😭

No wonder all I saw were clouds. I only had time to look up twice, even when I was walking in the street towards the jeepney route in the cloudy and hot afternoon sun.

qocvyet9vx.jpg

I already gave up on ever seeing the heavenly phenomenon. And then I find out the sun filter thing. 😣 Oh what a photo fail indeed. 💔

Not like it's the end of the world but it could have been nice to be able to take a clear shot of an eclipse for the first time in my entire life. Huh. I believe I've heard of the photo trick before but never really bothered with it. 🤷

Ah how juvenile can I get.



And The Sourgraping Moment of the Day is...

Before I realized I needed a photo filter, I quoted a Facebook post of where people can share their eclipse shots. I posted something to this effect:

Everybody had the time to wait for the right moment and shoot the eclipse, while I had the time to tour the client around the house/lot and then wait for the reservation fee. (With matching praying hands icon at the end of the sentence)

After I learned about the filter thing... I mean come on, it's better to have a six digit commission than a photo of an eclipse right? 🤔 Yes? 😅 Agree? 💔



The Eureka Moment

Oh I almost forgot to write about this. So I had a light bulb moment earlier right? I was talking about my 7 ft banner and where I could hang it. I've been thinking about it for less than year I think. 😅 Hey can't blame me for finding ways on how to sell.

Remember the store I mentioned earlier? Well I did say it had a tarpaulin door cover right? And it was big and wide enough. Perhaps three feet wide and really tall too. I just realized it's the perfect place to put my big banner on!

Doesn't matter if people wouldn't see it during the day if the store is open. I'm sure there will be moments when the big "window" is open with the door closed so everyone can see it. Heck maybe people will only even see the banner at night when the store is closed. That's fine with me. Any amount of constant visibility still means business!!! Better than no visibility at all!

And so I texted the store owner and mentioned my idea. I said if someone would buy a unit because of seeing the banner, she would get a referral fee from me. Sent the text and waited. Guess what the owner replied back?

*drumroll pls *

She said yes! Woohoooo! 🎉

As you can see in this photo slide from Mr. Francis Kong, we have to grab opportunities whenever we see it. Or in this case, I finally realized it!

ak6dd1.png

And so dear readers, what matters the most is not the missed eclipse photo opportunity. It's moving forward in reaching your dreams and not being sidetracked by the little things. Yeah I always get sidetracked but the mind is an amazing thing. What we keep searching for we will eventually find when we least expect it. ♥️

I mean, I've been to that store 4 or 5 times already and I only really noticed the tarpaulin door cover today. If I had not seen the store closed, giving me a doomed feeling yesterday, I wouldn't have noticed the door again today and realized the great opportunity!!!

So that's my positive message of the day folks! Opportunity is everywhere around us. It's always staring us in the face, we only need to realize how to use it. 💪 💪 💪

How about you, what have you realized today? Feel free to share!

XOXO,
@artgirl



Read Philippine Condo Buying FAQs Here

Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

fzo8b444e7.jpg

Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

DeviantArt prints here.

wur8at.png

More details here and How to Order


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem/Share for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥












Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.587 which ranks you at #6371 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 75 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ring of Fire and Property viewing, couldn't get more interesting

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87