We love to readsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ph7 years ago (edited)

Reading has always been a very big part of our household. We have family story time. Every night. For the past 9 years. At first it was something we implemented as part of our bedtime routine, with our first child. I never imagined it to be worth so much more!
20170605_194441.jpg

Every night we draw a name from a container. Which ever name is picked, gets to pick the book and sit on mine or dads lap to read it to their siblings. My kids think its the best part of the day. What started off small became a family tradition.
20170605_194414.jpg

As a family we have gained so much from story time. My kids have learned to take turns and learn respect for others during their turn. My 9 year old can read goosebump type novels. My eight year old can also read those novels. My 5 year old has already started to read small more common words. And my 4 year old can recognize common words as well. My point being that story time has given them the knowledge of reading at an early age, long before their peers. When friends and teachers ask me how I was able to give my kids a love for reading, I answer with two simple words. STORY TIME! The best joy is the family bondong time we get to have everynight! We have missed a couple days as life does get chaotic with 4 kids. However we try out hardest to incorporate it everynight right before bed.

Our new family tradition was something we were not eexpecting. However it is something I wouldn't trade for the world. Memories last forever. What things have you taken on as a family? Did you ever expect it to become so wonderful?

Sort:  

This is a beautiful tradition, reading is always gratifying, your way is double. Learning and imagining together. Wonderful job there.

Very cool ! I am a book lover myself and in a family of 7 I am not so proud to say that no one else shares my interest.

The only thing we do as a family is always eat together with our cellphones away. This is a small step but I think it can grow into a meaningful family time.

What format do you prefer for reading ? Ebooks or Printed books ?

I love ebooks as they are easy to organise and carry in your pocket. The other reason is, my printed collection was destroyed in a rain.

Oh thats a really good one. We eat together too. My kids are still fairly young but definately keep the no cell thing in mind when they get older! Its amazing what small things create such a big difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48