My Favorite Dog Breeds

in #animals6 years ago

Working in the veterinary field for many years, I encountered countless breeds of dogs. While I can agree that every dog, from the mangiest mutt to the tiniest teacup chihuahua, has its merits, I must admit I do have a few favorite breeds.My top five favorite dog breeds are:

1.English Bulldog

Friendly, dopey, and incredibly adorable, bulldogs are wonderful creatures. Blessed with a playful temperament and kissably wrinkly faces, bulldogs are easily distinguished by their unique features.

2.Blue Heeler


The Australian Cattle Dog, also known as the Blue Heeler, has got to be one of the sweetest types of dog around. I have met plenty who have an outrageous amount of energy, but I have never met one that I didn’t absolutely adore.

3.Jack Russell Terrier

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a household that had this classic, loyal, and bouncy breed. Jack Russell Terriers may be small, but their hearts are big, and so are their brains; some of the best trained dogs in the world are Jack Russell Terriers.

4.English Mastiff


These gentle giants are some of the largest dogs in the world, but that won’t stop them from acting like a loving little lap dog. As sweet and good natured as English Mastiffs are, they also make excellent guard dogs with their protective and loyal disposition.

5.Newfoundland

Another extra large breed, the Newfoundland is the very definition of the phrase “more to love”. For such a massive, intimidating creature, you would be surprised to learn that these dogs are some of the most sweet, gentle, and kind dogs I have encountered.

To be honest, this list could go on to include pretty much every dog breed known to man; I'm a big fan of dogs. Do you have a cute dog at home? Share a picture with us in the comments!

Sort:  

I think what non dog people cannot understand is that dogs are more than companions. They help us be a better version of ourselves- at least that's what my dog did to me. Before I had him, I never even thought of anyone else beyond myself. That changed when he came into my life!

Nice post! In my household there is a dog, but the dog isn't mine. I don't even know what breed is the dog, but he is cute and friendly. Sorry, I have no picture of him though.
And you know, I really don't know much about dogs. Now, I know a little bit about dogs as I am reading your post with each description about their features and characteristics, which is informative and educational for someone like me.

Of all your favorite dogs in the photos, i like number 3 the most. Thanks for sharing these beautiful dogs.

I have a miniature dapple dachshund named Willie (short for wet willie; he named himself)! He is top dog, and a gun-slinger for sure; every dog is welcome, as long as they do what HE says, LOL! I delivered him myself, and I have been his pet toy every since.

Here he is, sitting up with me, sound asleep.... :)

willie sitting pretty.jpg

LOVE IT! Aren't they so hopelessly rotten, LOL? I rescue this breed, and have had dozens here temporarily, and he always welcomes them here; and adds them to the pack.

He is the only one I have that is Not a rescue. They are so very smart, and each has a different personality! I have my first full sized rescue here right now, and he acts the exact same way...spoiled! :D

20180707_190533.jpg

Have you seen Yorkshire Terriers, Pomeranian, Golden Retriever, Akita Inu, Japanese Chin? This is awesome breeds. You can check it on my steemit post: https://steemit.com/dog/@healthypets/this-week-special-top-5-cutest-dogs-in-the-world

Dogs are everything when I used to get beating in my childhood my dog used to protect me. I miss him daily.

Thanks and congratulations for sharing this publication. Great, follow me and I'll follow you friend

i dont care about them breeds, i like cute dogs, loyal dogs, friendly dogs.

Hehe, if English bulldogs are your favourite, check out my latest post - I have just been reunited with my 2 English bulldogs after 6 months! 😀 it was such an incredible moment, they remembered me and wouldn’t leave me alone, it was so cool :) great post - bully’s are my favourite, well as I do have 2 of them :) they’re awesome ! hope you like😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99