The Day My Beloved Dachshund, Charlie, Passed Away

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

I feel this might be a "tear jerker" for some so be warned.

Charlie was 14.5 years old at the time of his passing. I had had him since he was three months old.

I wrote the following shortly after Charlie passed away and am just now, years later, placing it here.

Charlie passed away unexpectedly the morning of December 20, 2010. I had dropped him off at the kennel the morning of December 18 as we were going out of town and I could not take him. When I came to get him the morning of December 20 they informed me he had passed away a few hours earlier. They said he had been barking quite a bit that morning which is weird as Charlie was not a barker.

Of course I was devastated. I left the kennel crying with poor Charlie lying dead in his carrier. Seeing him lying there was so pitiful. I cried all the way while driving to my veterinarians’s office. Upon entering, the front desk lady asked me a few questions without realizing I was there because my pet was deceased. I think I was able to answer one question before I started wailing uncontrollably. It did create a scene but I could not help it.

A few of the employees helped to get me into a special comfort room. After a few minutes, I pulled the coat Charlie was laying on out of the holder so that he was in front of me. I was petting him and stroking him. He really had not been deceased very long and was not yet stiff as you might expect.

The vet came in after awhile and we talked . She was patient and kind. Charlie’s health had been deteriorating but I thought he would live a few more years. The vet gently wrapped him in a blanket and I kissed him one last time as she carried him away.

I was very sick for several days with depression, dizziness, etc. Visiting some friends and relatives over Christmas distracted me a bit and I am feeling better. Of course while writing this post I was crying quite a bit...how could I not. I’ll be forever sad and will always miss my beloved Charlie.

I had Charlie cremated and picked up his ashes 12/28/10 and will keep them forever.

Charlie.jpg
Charlie during his younger years



Charlie 2.jpg
Charlie during his older years



copyright 2017 missinglinks

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85