The crazy rodent lady

in #pets7 years ago

Hello, folks!

It's me, the crazy rodent lady. You know how some women grow old and have no one except hundreds of cats? That's gonna be me, just with rodents: mice, rats, rabbits, hamsters and alike.
When I was a kid we used to have hamsters. I've had three: Vitomir, Benjamin and Eminem. And when I was in high school I had a mouse: Adolf. Lovely fella. Sadly, he was eaten by my mother's cat.

Fast forward I got married and currently live in the same house as my parents in law (who, by the way, are the best people ever) but are not fans of dogs and I am allergic to cats so what else do I have to adopt?
Rodents. And fish. But that's another story.

Two years ago we adopted two mice rescued from a lab. Pinky and Brain. We had them for a year and then Pinky eat Brain. Or Brain eat Pinky. I'm not quite sure. But anyway, the cannibal one didn't take it well and he died from, well, cannibalism. My kids still think they ran away. Sometimes lying is the best thing you can do for the kids.
Marta i Sana (30).jpg

Then, last year, me and my kids went on a trip to my grandmother's farm. We spent a few rainy days over there so my grandmother, who breeds rabbits for food, brought in a tiny bunny for my kids to play with. He was about a month old then. It was love at first sight. DSC_0385.JPG

To my man's excitement (sarcasm alert) we decided to bring him home. If you've been following my husbands Steemit account you already know that Mr. Zec is the rabbit he loves to hate. So, bunny grew from the tiny fluff ball he was and is about 3,5 kg now. A monster rabbit. And he has quite a temper too. He hates our kids and tries to bite them all the time. But we are working on it. If I could turn my middle kid, the impersonification of the loony tunes Tazz to be a decent kid I can do anything.

DSC_0159.JPG

So, what's the right thing to do when your better half hates rabbits? Take in a second one. This little fella came to us from a town nearby because his previous owners wanted to throw him out due to, you guessed it, aggression. We didn't adopt the little one, we are just babysitting until he finds his forever home.
20258222_274955142908913_6008580604423188177_n.jpg

I would really like to adopt some more rodents but the love of my life said today: This is the last time you bring a rabbit home. Little does he know...

Sort:  

I had never heard of the term "Crazy Rodent Lady" before. Brought a big smile to my face. We are getting into the "Crazy Cat People" sphere of things, so for us rodents are out for obvious reasons. But I loved having rabbits back in the day before we were adopted by cats. Rabbits are fun little friends to have around the house. Best wishes to you and yours!

Thank you :) Rabbits are really something else! Many folks think they are like hamsters or mice but they have so much personality and can give back love just like cats or dogs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86