How an Emotional Support Animal (ESA) Can Help

in #pet8 years ago (edited)

Living with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) I have a difficult time getting out of beds some days. Some day I don't want to leave the house, shower, eat, or do anything else. Unfortunately this disrupts my daily routine which is essential in my disorder to decrease any triggers that my occur. Unfortunately, my moods can dip or increase within a moments notice and my schedule and everything else goes out the window.

When I returned from Operation Iraqi Freedom I was also diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder also known as PTSD (that is another story altogether). So I was battling several disorders and barely hanging on. Days turned into weeks, I didn't do anything but lay in bed and cry. I couldn't sleep I was a real mess...well more so than usual. My psychiatrist suggested an Emotional Support Animal (ESA). As always he suggested I do my research and see if that is something I think will help me.


image credit @ www.nsarco.com

An emotional support animal (ESA) is a companion animal that a medical professional, usually a mental health professional , has determined provides benefit for an individual with a disability. Emotional support animals, typically dogs, but sometimes cats or other animals, may be used by people with a range of physical, psychiatric, or intellectual disabilities. In order to be prescribed an emotional support animal the person seeking such an animal must have a verifiable disability. Under United States federal law, a person must meet the federal definition of disability and must have a note from a physician or other medical professional stating that the person has that disability and that the emotional support animal provides a benefit for the individual with the disability. An animal does not need specific training to become an emotional support animal. All types of people with varying needs may use ESA like people with Depression, Anxiety , Mental Health Disorders, Veterans, Autism, Aspergers, PTSD, Phobias and other disorders not mentioned here.

Yeah I think I this might definitely. work. First step is to get a medical professional that can write a letter stating you are currently their patient. Also you are under their care for the treatment of a mental disability found in the DSM IV or V (the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders). The letter must also include how your disability substantially limits at least one major life activity. The letter should be clear that the medical professional prescribes for you an emotional support animal as a necessary treatment for your mental health. Usually the letter must also include the date, written on their letterhead, include their license type, number, date of license, and state in which the license was issued. I had all my bases covered with that so while he created the letter I set out to find an animal.

Although an ESA does not required specialized training there were certain factors I needed to take into consideration. I settled on getting a dog because I have a household of allergy suffers (which I have written an article on how to manage those symptoms) so I needed to consider a dog that did not shed. Also our place was small so it had to be a smaller dog and a breed that will provide sufficient emotional support for me. I read dog breed books, I looked up different breeds but still nothing.

Then one day I was out with my family and I was sitting on the steps of a building and an older very elegant lady came by with a small perky little dog with small bow in between her ears holding up strands of hair, the rest of the hair on her was cut short.

Oh my! Isn't she adorable! What type of dog is she? I asked

The lady stopped and the little dog stopped and sat down beside her the whole time staring at the lady.

Yorkshire terrier, honey, and she is precious. The lady responded

Yorkshire terrier, don't they have long hair? I asked

Yes, she said,but We don't compete so she gets regular trims.

We don't compete so she gets regular trims, I repeated back in my head and a light bulb went off!

Awesome! I was so excited! After talking with her and playing with ChinaLily and her true age of 15 years old was revealed I set out to find everything I could find about Yorkies and find one to bring home.


image credit @ www.isleinterpret.com

Once I found my baby (to reserve his privacy I will not reveal his real name), we picked him up and got him to a vet. Once I registered my baby as an Emotional Support Animal I was able to have him with me everywhere I went that included service animals. Also any housing that did not allow pets had to make reasonable accommodations per the American Disabilities Act (ADA) for my pet. (Please check your states current laws for the most recent information). Which wasn't a lot of accommodating because fully grown he is 6 lbs. I can also travel with him on an airplane if needed, but airplanes give me terrible anxiety so we just enjoy our road trips!


image credit @ www.emotionalsupportdogvest.com

So did he help me? Did the ESA provide me the tools I needed to function in day to day activities. HELL YESS!! My baby is now 13 years old and we joke and say he is entering retirement. When he does reach retirement he will be enjoying it was us. My baby has been more help than I could possibly imagine. My baby was there with me during the late nights crying where he would just stare at me and as soon as the tear would fall from my eye he jumps and licks it off. My husband jokes that my tears have sustained the doggy throughout the years.


this is my little guy in his old age!

There was one day I remember several years ago. I hadn't gotten out of bed in a couple of days to feed or bathe myself. My little guy kept coming up to me and barking and running in circles. I followed him into the kitchen and he kicked his water bowel staring at me...Oh, my baby! I give him a hearty bowl of food and water with ice chips (his favorite). While he was eating I find myself making a sandwich. After he finished eating he wanted to go out and I found myself changing my clothes and going out for a walk with him. There are several days like this, too many to count. My baby has been the emotional support I need!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65726.71
ETH 2677.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91