Money & Fame

in #personalnote5 years ago

Never have I thought that because someone has a lot of money I will follow them. That goes the same for fame. When people talk of others they see on TV and they ask whether I've seen this or that about them and I say I've never heard of them they give you a dumbfounded look. In that moment of silence when they realize they have nothing to add to build on their conversation, you can see it in their eyes...

They are empty inside!

winter-843305_1920.jpg


Slide1_RV1.jpg


Consider donating should this post have been of value:
BTC - 18atWSWrN2bDxNWeoc3Q68coQBEk69FvUY
ETH - 0x71844057eec156843af64b2b8021daf3615b0e06
LTC - LPji8igXQ1cqjhZDFZUYgEWvVshGVi4AA1


Untitled_rv5.png

Sort:  

That's a good viewpoint. Often I wonder about how celebrities came to be in the first place. What primal instinct are we serving when we idolize someone we've never met, nor who even knows we exist. Some we worship, others we jealously curse... Strange behavior.

I suppose a most cynical suggestion could be that it's not instinct driving us to these odd cult-like quirks, but instead we are being "brainwashed", so to speak, into consuming the schlock that mainstream & powerful entities force feed us.

Although, the more positive character of me has to admit, if it ain't hurtin' no one, and it makes some people happy, then is there really anything wrong with some people sitting down after a long day of work and relaxing to their favorite fake-"reality"-tv-show?

I don't know... I've got a pretty large cognitive dissonance going on about this lol 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

@stuffbyspencer you ask a very good question. I have myself not been able to figure it out. The closest I think I've come was a post by one of my Minds friends.

A magic spell is cast.
A group of actors is a cast.
Anyone and everyone who's ever had their image cast onto the silver screen is ineligible to pass through into this new day.
The silver screen makes the person cast onto it too big to pass.
So, there they are, left behind, to be devoured by the darkest yesterday.
Dont look.
Leave them, lest they latch onto your soul and render you a vagrant spirit, drifting and ranting about stories the universe denies ever being told.
MuchLove
Link here

I must say I think I agree with him. You a cursed by the cast :-)

I have also made an attempt at wording my concerns of TV but maybe it's more clear in my head than in the post. Ideas should come from your head for you to actually be free. If what you think stems from someone else's ideas are you truly free? Free Will

I also don't know the truth and won't pretend to but I am searching for it and from your thought-provoking comment I can deduce you are searching as well :-)

I think the search for truth is what keeps me going most days :^)

As for free will & its relation to self-thinking, well, I can't possibly wrap my mind around free will.

Whether or not it truly exists, how could one ever know? Performing a "random" task to prove you have it can always be met with the retort: "How do you know that random-task wasn't predestined for you to do?"

It's a fun thought experiment nonetheless, although it can easily steal away a few hours ;^)

I'll give your free will post a read. Keep on searching & writing friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

You to my friend. Hope you have a great weekend :-)

Congratulations @dpl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25