News From U.S. Veterans Affairs Dept.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #personal5 years ago (edited)

Sitting around waiting to hear from veterans affairs

Many of you are aware of the time spent waiting by U.S. veterans. I served 8 years of active duty service to country. I wouldn't say that being a veteran entitles me to special priveleges in life. As a civilian now for the past 25 years I have attempted to file claims for primary and secondary physical conditions.

Like the lady in the above picture as a veteran, you sit and wait. Like we used to say in the army, "hurry up and wait". This being on pins and needles waiting for a verdict can lead a person to all kinds of thoughts and bad intentions. We all are aware of the high-rate of suicide among veterans. And the numbers of young people taking their own lives seems to be getting worse.

I recently received notice of one of my open claims. I was able to receive and upgrade in percentage from one and denied on the other. A win is a win, no matter how small. The regional veterans affairs office took a really short time to come to a decision on my case.

Now if only they can finish with my existing appeal. I can simply wait and hope for a positive decision in my favor.

Sort:  

Hi, @tonygreene113!

You just got a 5.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86