You can't put a price tag on Personal Information

in #personal7 years ago (edited)

So I got asked a few very interesting questions about a "Backup" & "Data Storage" solution a while back and upon answering I realized that there weren't a simple & logic way to approach this.

The questions that I got asked was:

  1. Where should I store my data and is it actually safe?
  2. How do I know my digital identity and Internet related habits are safe and secure?

I was going to simple suggest that based on my principal of how to store data, it has to be in 3 locations...which would be on your Device (Laptop, PC or Mobile Device), Server or External HDD and Off-Site (Cloud Storage Service) such as Google Drive, Amazon, OneDrive etc. I realized that although this is a very good and "safe" way of storing your data, that it could cause issues down the line if a breach occurs within the above mentioned Cloud Storage Service Providers network. This would be detrimental to the consumer since they have entrusted all their personal data with this Cloud Storage Service Provider and they have been failed...as proven in the past.

So how does one answer the above mentioned question without sounding biased towards a certain solution, company or type of infrastructure? I would merely suggest, with all the leaks happening and the fact that your digital fingerprint on the Internet is no longer personal, that you should keep your personal data as securely stored away from the Internet as possible as this will simply mean you are exposing an extra part of your life to a broken society that thrives on leaked content and exposing people for their own gain...

I would love to hear other peoples opinion on the above mentioned post...

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @philip.willemse :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87