ENGLISH IDIOMS: in one’s own right

in #persian6 years ago (edited)

in one’s own right

فی‌نفسه، به‌طور مستقل

You certainly should read all these textbooks, especially if your ambition is to be a top professional in your own right!

شما مطمئناً باید همه‌ی این کتاب‌ها را بخوانید، مخصوصاً اگر هدفتان آن است که به نوبه‌ی خودتان یک متخصص مبرز باشید!


This post is part of a tutorial on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

Hi thank you for this post I'm learning Persian language ,well the alphabet I dont have problem with because I'm from Algeria and I can speak and talk Arab so it's same alphabet , but I would like you to answer my question ??!!
My question is :

Is there any difference in Persian between love and like?

تو را دوست دارم

In English, like is generally for friendship, and love for romantic relationship, family, motherland. If I say I like him, mostly I like him as a friend.

So, in Persian, it is possible to distinguish the emotion if without context?

Thank you!

The usual way to express both meanings is the same:
دوستَت دارم.‏
(I love you.)
or you could say:
عاشقتم.‏
(I am in love with you.)
And:
من این کتاب را خیلی دوست دارم.‏
I like this book very much.

Thank you for your kind words and support. It's nice to meet someone who is learning the Persian language. Wishing you the best of luck with that endeavor!

Wow! This post is really doing well. Thanks for the re-steems by the way.

He was already established as a poet in his own right

She's a rich woman in her own right rather than by inheritance

I am trying to established myself in this community in my own right.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 17.21 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

This post has received a 4.17 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ghasemkiani. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05