You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dried Lambsquarter and Magenta Spreen Leaves for Wintertime Vitamin and Mineral Supplements

Last year was the first time I let the weeds grow and I tried to identify as many as I could to see what was edible. I used nettle for the first time ever, discovered we get purslane and mallow. We ate young wild lettuce and fed the older ones to the rabbits. I've learnt a bit about milk and sow thistle, but mostly the rabbits eat them too. I'm also learning what we can't eat and that gets composted.

Seeing as the weeds do better than some purpose plantings I'm finding it worthwhile leaving the edible ones in.

Sort:  

How wonderful! Sounds like you have an amazing smorgasbord of yummy weeds in your garden :) Did you know you can use mallow leaves as a binder in baking (replacement for egg)? I definitely have a love for weeds, every year more and more so. They offer us so much love and care :)

I did not, thank you for that tip. Although the Australian malllow is slight different to the northern hemisphere malllow, so I might have to double check it would work first. Or maybe just experiment!

That's interesting I didn't think about the different mallows. Mainly it is the mucilaginous quality of the mallow growing here that allows it to bond with flour. If your mallow leaves are also mucilaginous it might be worth trying!

The leaves aren't very mucilaginous, but the seed pods are if you chew them. They seem to react more with the saliva though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62