Permaculture Series - Residential Scale Rabbitry

in #permaculture7 years ago

My residential scale rabbit experiment has come to an end. 2-1/2 years of thinking outside the box called Normal and there have been plenty of lessons learned concerning how rabbits fit into the back yard ecosystem.

There are ways a rabbitry consisting of 2-3 breeding females and 1 mature male can be maintained with minimal costs if a little planning goes into the landscaping and design of the yard. If done industriously, the mature adults could be 90% sustained from yard growth as long aslitters on the smaller side were deemed acceptable. The growing juveniles will eat ravenously and as they grow larger they will most likely require hay or pellets unless a large enough section of vegetation is available to provide their feed.

Something I was not very consistent with was record keeping. Keeping track of which female is pregnant and how old young rabbits are is very useful knowledge and keeping consistent notes will save time and improve quality in the long run.

I've reached the conclusion that a mature male can roam the entire back yard without trouble from predators. The mature females also can safely free range in the yard if one can solve the problem of controlling when they get pregnant and ensure they have a safe place to give birth and nurse their young for the first several weeks. I have not figured out how to solve that problem, so I would recommed the females be kept in regular wire cages with an opening to an enclosed earthen 'cave' where they will keep the babies. It's also important this cave have easy access for those who are tending the rabbits as it will need to be cleaned out and the newborns cared for.

A useful invention which would greatly aid the food collection process is a scyth type rotating lawn mower which somehow made the grass clippings into a giant stranded rope. This would make harvesting reasonable sized servings on a daily basis and also stopping a lot of the waste rabbits create while eating hay.

Keeping three femals in the manner I describe below would net a family of Four enough meat to enjoy weekly and things could be timed to have young from all three females butcher ready at the same time to provide meat for a larger gathering or Holiday.

The young rabbits should be confined as they become easy meals for hawks and cats if they are out in the open on a regular basis. A movable Tractor style contraption can be used to give them access to fresh grass and room to exercise a la Salatin style chicken tractors, although if they are able to get out it's a pain in the ass catching them again unless they are feeling cooperative.

A basic schematic of how I would recommed housing the female and juvenile rabbits. I live in a very hot, dry, desert environment so getting the rabbits access to the cool ground and shade is critical.
(1 – Brick to keep wood post off the ground) (2 – 2x4 framed cage supports) (3 – Wire Rabbit cage) (4 – Plywood box between wire cage & enclosure) (5 – CMU or Brick walled enclosure) (6 – Hinged top) (7 – Concrete slab to prevent escapes)


Sort:  

It sounds like you had a lot of learning in the last 2-1/2 years! Why is your experiment ending? I think your setting in a hot, dry, desert climate was particularly challenging. From the heat, and from the challenge of having enough vegetation for them to eat. Looking forward to learning more from you!

The wife wanting them out of the backyard was reason #1. The butchering part of the process was another big reason I let them go, I didn't enjoy that. I have enjoyed the learning experience, but now that I've obtained a basic understanding of how they integrated into this setting I'd rather spend my time with other work.

The heat was definitely the biggest difficulty to overcome. My males were sterile the first 9 months I had them because I tried to keep them in cages and cool them down with ice as many places recommend. Using a cage connected to some contained contact with the earth completely solved it though.

Glad to have contributed something useful, thank you.

Thanks. That's a practical and realistic response, for sure. There is a lot involved with having animals, and especially for food. It will be interesting to learn how you've adjusted your system without them.

On a daily basis, it only took 5-10 minutes/day to care for the rabbits unless there was any work building cages or pens or anything like that. The ability to be there every day was mandatory though and that's where I won't be able to commit the needed attention to them. The latest post I put up shows how I've re-purposed some material I used for their shelters. Hopefully all the compost leads to a happy garden this year as well, only time will tell.

That daily responsibility is one reason I don't have any food animals, too. It's hard enough to get neighbors to feed a couple cats, lol, when I go out of town. Enjoy your compost! : )

Awesome to see a post having to do with Permaculture. It's The Way

It's my Way at least. Pretty amazing how my perspective has changed since integrating permaculture into my day to day mindset. I'll have more permaculture based posts coming soon, thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85