My Life Update : Permaculture, Homesteading, Community, and a Big Thank You to Steemit!

Wow! It’s been a while since I’ve written anything or been on the computer for an extended amount of time.

Life has been so incredibly full for the past few months, I am just astounded by how much abundance I’ve been surrounded by. And I am so grateful for it all.

16251758_10158056648335364_8703440884806153409_o.jpg

First off, I want to say a big thank you to the Steemit community. You all supported me so much this past year. I posted a while back about my life vision : creating a permaculture healing center and a youth development non-profit. I am happy to say that I have spent the past 6 months diving head first into working with the land and starting the permaculture healing center. And this is largely because of the financial support the Steemit community offered me through all of your upvotes on my blog posts. Thank you thank you thank you.

17990226_10158470229070364_4881815537320069370_o.jpg

I sit hear now in reflection of the past 6 months on the land, so amazed at the journey and what we’ve already been able to do. Ryan and I have had multiple friends visit and help out so much on the farm. Here are a few things we’ve been up to:

  • created a 6 tier compost system out of salvaged redwood fencing
  • created a 10x12 greenhouse
  • created shelving for the greenhouse
  • planted over 20 fruit trees
  • planted over 60 raspberry plants
  • planted over 80 comfrey plants
  • created our home space with a fire pit and garden beds
  • terraced multiple garden beds on the sloped area
  • harvested yards and yards of 5 year old woodchip compost
  • created bamboo arbors
  • created a chicken feed compost system
  • planted winter veggies
  • created an herb spiral garden
  • made raised beds for a friend’s backyard
  • created a 6x9 greenhouse for a friend’s backyard
  • started a mushroom farm
  • got 6 new chickens and 3 new ducks
  • got a puppy!!!!

Wow, it’s great to write down some of the fun activities we’ve been up to.

IMG_6179.JPG

These are just some of the things we’ve been up to on the land. It doesn’t even touch on the expansive work and play we’ve been up to with the community. I am currently a humble student of community. I am slowly learning how to be a part of a community and am learning how to create community. I am so grateful for all of the people in the Bay Area that have opened their communities to me. I feel abundantly full of human connection right now, which has not been the case in the past. I am learning so much from the people around me - how to be a part of a movement of social justice, environmental justice, and love.

IMG_5925.JPG

I am at a point right now where I am not sure the direction that I want to take with the farm. I have external financial pressures to start a microgreens business in order to support myself. However, I am feeling conflicted with this option as I would be selling directly to chefs at expensive restaurants, and not affecting change in my community where people most need food sovereignty resources. What I want to be focusing on is creating a community hub for food sovereignty and offering resources (knowledge, materials, time, space, ect) to people in my community. I am realizing that writing may be a way to offer the resource of knowledge. I want to create blog posts that offer insights into permaculture, homesteading, and community building. I hope these blog posts will be helpful to anybody. The more knowledge we share with each other the more resilient our communities will be. Thank you Steemit for offering a space to share our stories.

IMG_5337.JPG

Sort:  

This is amazing! It is so encouraging to learn about someone taking their crypto earnings and using them to make a positive difference like this. I especially loved reading about how you are learning to build and live in community. It's not as easy as it sounds, and well worth it.

It's so nice to see you here again! You've made some great accomplishments lately. I look forward to reading more from you, because I'm not sure what "food sovereignty" is, and I'm sure you can explain it! I learned a lot about permaculture from you, on this very blog, so I'm excited to see what you share next!

Thank you @kenny-crane! I will definitely touch on my definition of food sovereignty soon :-)

Nice to see you back! Wow, you have done so much during the time you've been gone - wish I would even have been able to accomplish even 10% of that.

Hehe, I was clearing my following list a few weeks ago and decided not to unfollow you due to the activity cause I knew you'd be back posting again. :)

Thanks @acidyo! I have definitely had a lot of help from others :-)
Lol yes I couldn't stay away from Steemit for too long!

Those sound like great projects. Hard work, but fulfilling, and nourishing for the land. Stick with it. The right path will emerge.

Thanks so much Tom :-) I appreciate the positive encouragement.

Hi, @anwenbaumeister
Im Aini, from Aceh. Love this post! more positive spirit in. (y)
Thanks to share

Really great at all. Wish you all the best, keep up the good mood and work. For a better world :)

Welcome back! Although I guess I technically didn't know you before since you'd stopped writing before I joined Steemit. But regardless... wow! What an amazing and inspiring life you lead... definitely an inspiration.

just amazing ! Great job

Wow amazing progress! Great to hear from you and look forward to hearing more from you again!

Thank you @steemrollin :-) It's great to hear from you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74