fine moments with the Cancabato Bay Toastmaster Club

in #people6 years ago

My first employment was as a Public Relations Officer (PRO) of the National Grains Agency (NGA) no NFA. As such PRO I was tasked to promote the good image of the agency and the programs it offers to its clientele. To carry these tasks, I wrote Press Releases on the programs,projects of the agency. I accompany my superiors on special events and i cover the same using a black and white camera. It was also my duty to organize, various grains sectors and in most of the times represents my supervisor -the Regional Manager in meeting within and without the agency.

Writing seems not to be a big problem. Most of the time i only do straight writing. O write only on the 3 Ws or newrite only.Sometimes i write speeches special reports and regular reports. ai find it my waterloo to Speak. Speaking as my fear. I have to speak in English, in our native dialect Waray waray, our national language Tagalog , a little Cebuano to sectors of the agency like grains farmers,businessmen, millers and consumers.I feel so nervous speaking in public. It as if i will melt like snow. I am shaking and sweating so to speak.

One time, a law classmate invited me to attend their regular meeting of teh City's Toastmaster Club. My first reaction was rejection. I thought it has something to do with drinking. She told me its a public communication and leadership club of International Stature. So there, because of my classmate's charm and persuasion I attended the first meeting of the Cancabato Bay Toastmasters Club which meets every Thursday. The first meeting impressed me no end. It was a well organized,well disciplined and a very amiable group. There were no special title or addresses. Everyone is just addressed as Toastmaster Jane,Dick ,Sam. There is a toastmaster of the evening who acts as master of the ceremonies who makes everyone welcomed and comfortable. There is a prepared program with defined theme for the night . Members and guests recites a Toastmasters Pledge.The Toastmaster is introduced ,then there are two parts of the program informal and formal sessions. At the informal session members are made to relax thru the song master who led the singing usually in accordance to the theme of the night ,the Joke master who delivers a joke and encourage others to give a joke and a fine master whose task is to raise funds for the club by devising raising funds strategies .There is also a table topic whereby all members are ask certain questions to answer. usually members called are thssose without assignments in the formal session to give them a chance to speak At the Formal session members delivers prepared speeches based on a program manual.There are set of evaluator's like grammarians(records and take notes of grammatical lapses.gems and germs/,Ah counter who takes notes of the As,pauses,ohms , reiteration of words, the Timer who takes note whether you speak on the time allotted for you to speak and the general evaluator who evaluates the management of the entire program. Non members cannot leave the room without saying a word or two. It is likewise explained that the evaluation is not meant to embarass the speaker but to bolster her/him. Firm handshakes and clapping begins and end a speech or a talk.The secretary ask if a guests wants to be a member.

My first speech assignment as a member was the Ice Breaker a speech which a new member delivers about him. Later followed by other assigned prepared speeches. After delivering a few speeches and actively participating in the informal sessions( a toastmaster is not allowed to refuse. A toastmaster wears many hats)i did conquer butterflies running in my stomach. Truly , Toastmaster truism of "If you are good Toastmasters Needs You and If you are not good you need Toastmasters " is really true. Back to you .665306_4168616182702_1339863814_o.jpg

photo.PNG706007_4169096354706_1875524123_o.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17