@Mountainjewel Has Just Served Up An Amazing Opportunity And We're Going For It To Help The Newbies!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

ontheroad.jpg
Don't get caught sleeping when Ren gets in the driver's seat!

This blue-eyed gal is ready to go! I am often the reason Scott and I end up jumping into the deep end of many situations. This could be a bad situation at times, but for us, it usually means we accomplish some amazing things. This is the reason we are here on the SteemIt platform. I heard about it and signed up, not realizing exactly what we were getting ourselves signed up for. It has given us some great opportunities and enabled us to meet some fantastic people.

Since we began here the end of this past August, we have learned so much from many amazing people. One of those things we have learned is to lend a helping hand to other people. When we all first arrive here, we are clueless and unsure about what to do and not to do. It is only when someone takes an interest in what you have to say or a photo you share that you are taken in and guided along; if you are as lucky as we have been. When the Welcome Wagon reached out their hands to us, we had so many questions. The questions we found were not unique to ourselves, but are what most new people are asking.


Artwork created by @penderis. He's such a swell guy!


Once we graduated the Welcome Wagon training, we went running full speed and were posting as much as we could about our travels and adventures; plus we were commenting as often as our RC could allow. Unfortunately, the HF20 really caused us to have to halt what we were doing and it caused us to think. We were at 100 SP at the time and were having a horrible time posting, voting, and, mostly, commenting. It is the commenting where you find your audience and friends; it is where you make the connections that help you grow and we were being stunted because of our small amount of RC.

friends3408314_640.jpg
View the photo's source HERE!


Fortunately, we are part of an amazing community and family, Welcome Wagon was there for us and helped us be able to find the delegation we needed to enable us to do more. More? What more would we want to do other than post, comment, and reply? We wanted to do for the new people what was done for us; we wanted to help people get noticed. But how? How could we do that in a way that was us?



While watching an episode of “How I Met Your Mother,” the answer came to us. Barney, wanting to “introduce” a friend to the perky blonde gal at the bar, pulled his friend up to her and blurted out, “Hey! Have ya met….” It was at that moment I knew what I had to do. I had to visit every single introduction post and personally welcome them to SteemIt and introduce them to everyone I knew.

Simple, right?




View the photo's source HERE!

First, I have to go through every single post tagged “introduceyoursel” and make sure it has been tagged correctly. Then I go through and make sure it is an individual who is actually new and not using the tag for the tenth time. There are today, at this very moment, about 167 of these posts that are actual first-time introductions. That’s a lot of new people and even at 321 SP ($145 of that is delegation) I am not able to welcome them all. The people I am able to welcome receive a personal greeting and a link to a Welcome post that gives them a few tips and tricks to help them get around a little easier.

The next thing I do is pick the introductions that are not just a photo with less than one hundred words. They have to have some substance, show us that there is potential, and desire to a part of this community. I then take a screenshot of their post and add it a post I call “Hey! Have Ya Met…” Once I post the article, I send a special post to the introduced people explaining I have introduced them to everyone we know, follow them so we can check on them periodically, and give them a 100% upvote to encourage them to continue writing quality posts.

Finally, I continue to watch these people and interact with them as much as I can. This means I read their blogs, watch their videos, and comment on it all. As they begin to show their interests and niche, I try to personally introduce them to other people who I think they would have things in common. Often, I will tag them in comments about contests, challenges, and posts. It has helped me develop some really nice friendships with them. Isn’t that what it is all about really? Meeting people and have a relationship with them is what makes this a wonderful community.

20181127 1.png
Thanks for allowing us to use the photo! View the photo's source HERE!


Your delegation will help Scott and I be able to reach so many more people and help them find their way around the SteemIt a bit easier. I realize it is only for a month, but so much can be done if it is not wasted. Remember me telling you I tend to jump in the deep end without thinking? This is one of those times. With us taking on your delegation, we are being given an opportunity to not only grow but to be a representative you both. We take this on knowing full well, it is one of those situations where what we do will affect more than us; it will affect you as well. Our plan is to do you proud.

signature.png


Remember, GET OUT and live life outside your box!
gologo-sm.png


Logo Wheels - 300px - The Welcome Wagon.png
Thank you @penderis for this artwork!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

Sort:  

hey there, just wonna say i'm greatful for all the efforts in which you and scott are putting in place in order to help build the community and i also feel good for being one of the persons which you welcomed into the steem community

Well, thank you so much for this. It is always nice to hear that you have done something right for someone else. I do appreciate it and I am glad we could get you out there so more people could meet you.
Ren

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mountainjewel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Love you two!

You made my start here on Steemit so much easier than it would otherwise have been. You welcomed me right from the start, and then introduced me to the Welcome Wagon where I got even more support.

By following your 'Have Ya Met' posts I've met even more lovely steemians. I love both yours and Scott's photos of your US travels and know you two would totally be the BEST people for this delegation.

@ravijojla, wouldn't you agree? :D

@juliamulcahy - you are our Jewelia, brought by these awesome fellas! I feel them so close, as if they live next door. For all the goodies they introduce to the @welcomewagon, I hereto prounounce them The Adorable Countytravelers.

Love, hugs and kisses to all you three.

Hey Ravi, I love my new name. I may have to begin writing under this one. I think it may sound quite different to the little voice, but who knows? ;)

I will be most flattered if you decide to use it! It is a lucky name...

Oh, I am so glad we have been able to help you find people! That is the whole reason we do it. As for you, there was no way I could scroll past! Your introduction was so amazing and well written. Then I just had to introduce you to @dreemsteem and the others. I just had to have you in my Welcome Wagon family!

I think we'll soon get the whole Welcome Wagon family together around that post! Isn't it so Christmasy!!!!

You just want to get my Spirit of Christmas going!

Coming soon :-)

Awesome initiative! I’m glad to learn about it through your post! You’re right, there is a huge gap here for newbies and it feels so much better to get a warm welcome and get your hand held while you learn some of the basics. From a brown eyed gal to a blue eyed one 😉, thank you for your entry! You can see by the amount of heartfelt comments that you get, that you’re making connections that are making a difference! 💙

It all started out because of our first few posts not being "received" well. It was frustrating and almost heartbreaking. However, as soon as people realized we were posting quality posts, it got better fast. That is when it dawned on me that there was a need for someone, anyone to step up and introduce these people. Empathy is a great tool.
Ren

You are doing a great job and not only Welcome Wagon but the entire Steemit platform should be proud of you, I know I sure am! Much love to both of you 💚

Thank you. We are just doing what needs to be done to help others.

howdy there excountytravelers! thank you so much for this initiative and for helping so many people!

Thank you for your kind words and support with your interaction. It means so much to us.

howdy tonight xcountytravelers! well you are very welcome and thank you for everything you guys do, did you guys have a youtube channel or facebook group before you came here?

Still do.

You can find our other media from our webpage

http://crosscountytravelers.com/

Scott

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86