Why I still believe

in #payitforward5 years ago

I have to admit that my desire to belong to an untainted religion is so strong.However, because of recent developments, I begun questioning my choices in my life. Why have I stayed in it despite the countless intrigues lately and why do I still believe.

No religion can solve my problems or guarantee that my life would be great for the rest of my days. It is part of our world that sometimes, things do not go as planned. No one is in complete control of any situation no matter how hard we try to plan or anticipate circumstances.

The truth is that, it does not really matter what religion you belong into or how many donations or fundraising activities you had done.It does not also matter if you spend the rest of your days doing nothing but praying and praising god or even preaching.

I believe that the best way a person or any religion speaks is through its heart. If there is nothing in it but the unswerving desire to be the best, righteous or dominate others even in favor of something good, then it does not count at all.

For me, believing comes from the heart and no amount of coercion, directly or indirectly, bribing or any form of "controlling others" in order to have faith is simply wrong. That in itself makes me believe in mine.

A few months ago, I was also very furious with one of the religious group for the things that some of its members perpetrated. It took me quite awhile to process things but, my honesty with one of their members caught me off guard when she said this to me: " I ask forgiveness for all the things they had done but you have to understand, it was not I but them who did it."

How easy it is for us to associate everyone for past mistakes or deeds and, it was quite a humbling experience really.

I am still an active member of my group and, I am expecting that I would be for a very long time. Yes. I belong in a group where a lot of controversies arise but that does not deter me at all. In fact, it had made me realize that this is the real deal because it recognizes its faults, it repairs, it heals. Most of all, I believe because no one coerced or forced me to.

Sort:  

Religion cannot save the soul. If it's eternity you're looking for, try Jesus Christ. John 3:16.

Hello @blockcurator, thank you for commenting on my post. When I visited your page, I got reminded of the speculative fiction and, I wanted to know more about it.LOLZ..

Haha Glad it was a gentle reminder. You're welcome to join us in some spec-fic fun.

I will. thank you.I had been reading some stories lately that falls in that genre and, I love them.

Congratulations @nurseanne84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.74% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Interestng .. I believe you are right about this.

I believe that the best way a person or any religion speaks is through its heart.

thank you. Things get complicated when we speak about our religion when deep down in our hearts we wanted the same thing: love, acceptance, peace, friendship, forgiveness, mercy.

have a great day? or night? depending on where you are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36