Sort:  

1 - Did you miss this part? "Obviously injustice and oppression is not at all unique to the U.S., and state-sponsored murder and oppression in other countries has often been far more blatant than it is here."
2 - If I moved somewhere else and THEN pointed out these facts, what would your excuse be then for not actually addressing them?

  1. No I got that part. And thanks for chiming in, dialogue is good in my book. My question was (is), can you give me an example of a place in the world where the people are doing it 'right' in your opinion?
  2. I am not suggesting that you move, nor am I going to answer one of your "A or B" questions. I don't live a fairy tale AND I don't believe that all countries/nations/governments are immoral. I believe all governments are flawed and I feel an obligation to play a part in making one better.

1 - Pretty much the whole world is plagued by the superstition of "authority." There are pockets of people trying to live without interference by ruling classes (including in places in the U.S.), with varying degrees of success.
2 - If someone pointed out that something was wrong with your house (termites, water damage, structural flaws), would your response be to point out that your neighbor's house is even in worse condition? Why play the comparison game at all, unless you're trying NOT to address what is wrong here?

Would you try to get RID of the termites, or would you try to find some termites who would "serve" you?

In case you couldn't guess this, the HOUSE is not the problem. The PARASITES are. Likewise, neither the place nor the people existing on the piece of dirt called "the United States" is what I am against. I am against the swarm of parasites stealing the efforts of decent, productive human beings. And that's what "government" always is.

I would try to fix my house! I wouldn't become an anti-houseist.

Spot on, Larken, as always. This goes with my post today I just put up. :)

https://steemit.com/politics/@dragonanarchist/government-is-not-corrupt

The house is your home. The government is the termites.

You didn't read the full article, did you?

I did. It was hard to go beyond the words "indisputable facts" but I forced myself to continue!

Feel free to point out any you think you can dispute.

It's not 'think I can dispute', it's simply dispute. It is the "if you disagree with me you are wrong" mentality which leads me to comment without upvoting. I'll not bother you any more if you prefer comments solely from those who disagree! Apologies if I've offended.

I believe that jsteck was disagreeing with Larken's contention that there is such a thing as an indisputable fact, not the particular facts that he stated.

An "indisputable fact" is sort of like "the science is settled". There is always room for dispute. And the science is never settled. The nature of science is that it is always only an approximation of reality, useful in a particular limited domain.

Even 2 + 2 = 4 only holds in particular integer groups/fields with particular definitions of 2, +, =, and 4. Since most people are only familiar with the one standard integer field, that statement is largely "indisputable", but widen the domain, and it isn't.

I still haven't figured out how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.

Keep up the good work, Larken. Always inspiring. Always challenging for those who still worship authority.

Is this a variation on the old, "if you don't like it here you should move!"?

No. More of a question as to whether someplace else has done a better job. But now that you ask, I think I would move if I hated where I was AND there was a better choice. Kind of like the old "this is the worst place in the world, except for everywhere else".

If it came across as 'leave' let's blame it on a lack of coffee at the house this morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46