Path Of Exile Review - Part 1 - First Impression (1.5h played)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pathofexile6 years ago

TLDR: This should have been Diablo III


As usual, disclaimer at: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bgg1998/introduceyourself-bgg1998-posts-about-boardgames


Background:

  • New to the game, played Diablo I, II, III and Book of demons. I have probably spent around $200 and 2000+ hours on the Diablo Series.
  • I looked for something that felt like Diablo I & II, as Diablo III disappointed me.
  • Book of Demons is a great game, gave me the wanted flashbacks to Diablo I, but now I'm looking for something more serious (I don't know how my SOs will react to talking about games as I talk about my relationships with them).
  • Creating account, downloading and installing was ok, nothing special.
  • Even if I don't know yet enough about the game, I wanted to try to guide myself into a class before trying to play, I have chosen the Champion as the Ascendancy class I tried to get to:
    https://www.pathofexile.com/ascendancy/classes/Champion

First Impressions:

  • The creators of this game are probably a huge Diablo II fans. So many things felt TOO familiar. They know who is going to play this game...
  • The gameplay is fan as usual. Hoped I could see more of the surrounding as I explorer the map, but it is not far from the way it is in Diablo II.
  • The start of a fresh new character and the beginning is so exciting (When the marginal affects of improvements are at their highest).
  • Didn't like choosing how to spend my first level up skill point, but at least I know what I'm trying to build (good to have PoE website). Also, you can (with some game currency) reallocate your level up points (not obvious how at start, but you know there is an option somewhere in the future).
  • The loot system looks cool, they have taken it Diablo II to next level.
  • Everything have sockets. Gems have levels too. Gems are the skills. Mind blowing Brilliant!
  • Better 'gamble' system, better way to tailor the loot to your needs.
  • am I in love?

OK, getting down to earth...

  • The game have some meta-currency, 'points'. Well, you need to spend real-life money for it.
  • I understand the creators of the game need to earn their bread. And yes, I am willing to pay a lot for that game, especially if I like/love it. But I which some 'quality-of-life' items just came with the game - like the better stashes.
  • I understand charging money for vanity items. I understand charging money for special superior items. I understand charging $3 for each extra character above a certain limit (takes up more space on their servers' DBs). But $4.5-15 for holding more than 1/10/20/40 of the same currency/essences/maps/cards (not sure what many of them are yet) without it taking more space?
  • I hope that is a minor complain, and I probably will be enjoying it enough to buy the 'quality-of-life' items.

What next?

  • Play more, get more loot, fall in love, have fun!
  • I really need to memorize key mapping.
  • look for Razer keyboard support/map by myself.
  • See where the game is going with me before I choose to buy points.
Sort:  

Congratulations @bgg1998! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00