You Say Different Like it's a Bad Thing

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

I'm the odd one out, the square peg in a round hole. I grew up knowing that I didn't particularly fit in with anyone else. The beauty of life was at that time I didn't particularly care. I spoke my mind, I walked with a step that bounced. I laughed a lot and I found pleasure in just about everything.

Life is an adventure. I couldn't wait to get up and head outside to wander around in the woods and watch the baby animals, to take long walks down the dirt roads all by myself listening to the birds singing.

The worst thing that ever happened in those days was a cloud of dust overtaking me in the form of a truck or car barrelling down that country road.

Drivers didn't really care if you were riding on a bike or walking, they would just dust you out regardless.

I was far from a cookie cutter child. I was sleight of frame and Mom kept my hair short. I had such wispy, straight blond hair that in frustration one day she cut it off into a pixie. I remember my Father being very angry with Mom for cutting off my long blond hair.

Once it was cut off, I began getting mistaken for a young boy. That continued on into my teens. One year my 8th grade class went to Drake's Oil Well Museum on a class trip to Titusville, Pennsylvania. I'll never forget purchasing a souvenir in the gift shop. I had forgotten my change. The cashier called out to the milling crowd of students, "Young man, young man! You forgot your change!" to my mortification.

After that trip I grew my hair back out again because I never, ever wanted to be mistaken for a boy ever again.

Cookie cutter is today's freewrite word prompt. New five minute freewrite prompts are posted daily @mariannewest. Everyone is welcome!

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, and chances win Steem Basic Income!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

**Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase

<a href="https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=2a661b9579"">

Earn free Sweatcoin which pays you for walking and exercising** *referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Don’t feel bad I went through the exact same thing and I also never ever wanted to cut my hair short again until a few months ago, due to excessive heat by living in very hot weather and health issues. Now I only get mistaken for a man on the internet m, guess girls aren’t supposed to draw well or science fiction. Even when I say I am female I am still called a Mr. 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol well, you make amazing art and I hope you feel better with shorter hair. I keep mine shoulder length now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @wandrnrose7
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been randomly selected and upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail with 20upvotes
This is random free upvote daily when you follow @haccolong
(If you check if you have followed, please wait 5 seconds, usually you have already followed so you get this upvote)

Thank you for the support!

Posted using Partiko Android

I sometimes wonder if we don't all consider ourselves square pegs trying to fit into round holes.
It’s the midweek prompt delivery team here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-467-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wild-and-woolly

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for the prompt prompt delivery!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27