Meeting Quota

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Life is about meeting quotas at work, if you're an employee. The simplest of jobs pushes us to meet some type of production quota. If your employer is anything like mine, each year the quota is upped to gain the same reward (or less).

I pushed last year to meet my call quota, my first call resolution and my efficiency quota. I'm a driven type A personality so I'm always striving to exceed goals. The challenge is frustrating when your handed handicaps like migraine or physical disabilities. Somehow, despite these handicaps and the inevitable technical challenges our work systems encounter, I did it. The satisfaction was short lived when I met my new Supervisor who congratulated me for meeting last year's goals and advised me that the company has upped the ante for 2019. Despite exceeding the goals last year I learned that the raise was unilateral. Where was the incentive beyond personal satisfaction? I must admit my enthusiasm waned as I walked to my desk.

Immediately I set about lowering my call times to meet the new expectations, but my spirit resists this change. My personal goal to exceed lingers and my first yearly checkpoint was positive, but morale is something entirely different. I'm drifting with mild feelings of disillusionment with a job that is stressful pushing to meet what at times feels unattainable amidst a temperature of often frustrated health insurance policy owners. We bear the brunt of their frustration with rising health care expenses both in premiums and out of pocket costs.

Quotas will be ever present. People are people when it means their pockets grow leaner to obtain the same services. I can't hold them to blame and indeed it is my goal to make their experience as pleasant as possible while guiding them to make the best possible health care decisions and helping right any unexpected wrongs on the parts of doctor's billing entities or coding mistakes.

If I had my say, I would push for more benefits and an easier system, but insurance is complicated and my time with them must be spent as practically and quickly as can be managed to meet the new company expectations and achieve career expectations. Sometimes I sacrifice my call times to do extra for people who clearly struggle and truly I throw quotas to the wind. You get more when you give more and I believe that somehow it must all even out because in the days end, I would prefer liking who I am over a penny or two more of a raise.

Here is today's freewrite. The prompt is quota
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

So true having to meet a quota can be stressful especially with not much of an incentive. 😊

Thank you for stopping by and commenting. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

I think Self-satisfaction is always an important factor, meeting quotas if it drains your own feeling of self-worth is good for the company but not for oneself

You get more when you give more

that is so true and a saying I live by

thanks for a great and thought-provoking free write

and also thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA !tip

Thank you, my friend. I am glad we hold to this creed. Thank you for the tip, too. @tattoodjay. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome and it is a good creed to hold on to :)

🎁 Hi @wandrnrose7! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: May 2 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29