You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My boys are growing up so quickly …..

in #parenting6 years ago

hey, @travelgirl.

It is very true. We might not think so at first, but time goes by very quickly, and the next thing you know, your sons are in high school, college, striking out on their own.

I have one son who will turn 30 in November. His brother turns 28. They're both married and have children. In some ways, I feel the weight of the time that's past (that mean I'm really as old as I am, too :), but in many ways, it just isn't possible that much time has past.

It's sounds cheesy or cliche to say it, but this is the time to cherish every moment with them, even if it is annoying and there's plenty of other things to try to do, because at some point, they will change to where they don't want to be with you so much.

There should be limits placed on play time, boundaries, etc., but life flies by. Time is relentless.

That said, I think it sounds like you have a lot of love for both of them, and I don't know enough to say much more. Only that it's cool when the grandchildren come because you get to go through it all again, just from a happy distance. :)

Sort:  

oh gosh i am so worried one day they won't want mummy anymore. I will def cherish each moment and just hug and kiss them as much as I want now. Not cheesy at all cos it is so true. When they grow up, they have their own lives and family and won't kiss or hug mummy any more :(

It is a part of growing up, and maybe especially for boys, but I think girls do it, too. Regardless, you will always have a special place in their hearts. It's just a matter of spending the time with them now so they will want to spend the time with you later. Relationships change over time, so we enjoy them the way they are for as long as they last, and we hope that period of time is forever. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88