Moving to Panamá - Part 1 - Courtyard Marriot at the Airport

in #panama6 years ago (edited)

Estimated Reading Time: 1 min, 46 sec

Hoddling in a Hotel

As blistery snow and hail clog the roads, a winter storm engulfs part of the country in inches of snow. The airport closed and then reopened. Code-Red. "No travel" was the word. I am at peace. A quick check - the weather will be moderate on Sunday when I board the plane to Tocumen, Panamá.

Packing was difficult. Leaving a life behind and with it, 90% of my possessions was a decision guided by airline baggage rules and associated cost than being a glorious benefactor to Christian charity. But I feel good about all that which I did not sell, that household, the hundreds of books, good clothes, electronics - the Full-Monty. Not least because the charity is also clearing my house. One thing less to worry about. Everybody wins.


I have 6 pieces of luggage still. A logistical nightmare. Did I need all these things? I think I did - I do.

It's a fresh feeling to start anew. A new culture, a new continent, a different language, a different country, a thriving city. PANAMÁ CITY - soon. I shall thrive with you, Panamá. Studio 21D for MSP-Waves Radio - it's "just" my condo, overlooking part of the city, even part of Panamá Bay. Going crypto full-time.

Nineteen years I lived here, the place I called home. It's a long time by my standards. I am no stranger to moving to different cultures, embracing different continents, countries, cities, discovering the new, leaving the old behind.

Home is wherever I hang my hat. It is a Panamá hat this time. I like the sun. I like summer. I like blue skies, and walking in shorts on Christmas day. I like the swimming pool at the property. I am excited and at peace. For the Panamanian Laissez-Faire attitude is me. Besides, I like siestas.


As I am waiting for a room to become available, I am sipping a Chardonnay, watching people watching people.

I went to the bar to order my glass of Vino, the bar tendering middle-aged lady, slow but friendly said: "There's no food, till about 4 pm. The chef left, getting himself an order To-Go elsewhere." I might skip dinner here. My slimline shirts don't fit me now. It's a shame! They shall be my size again. They better be - I brought a lot of them!

I hope you enjoy my Panamá diary. Everything is in slowmo just now it seems. Out of the old, in a holding pattern - as I escape the country, this society, the oppression, the evil that so many are oblivious of - for so long. Time to breathe again.

~Chris (globo)


Thank you for reading.

globocop_small_orginalcontent.png

Proud Supporter of PAL and the - The Minnow SupportProject
Christopher "The Hat" Hatfield @globocop

[Upvote] [Comment] [Resteem] [Follow]
Globobop Curation Trail - Make your vote count - Upvoting Quality - Why not join today?

Sort:  

Wonderfully written, i feel right there with you in the lobby watching people watching other people. can't wait for the next entry Globi! I'm super excited for you and can't wait for Studio21 to POP! Best of luck!!!!!

Yeahhhh! Thank you sirLunchi! Your verdict means a lot!!!
I just wish they'd play better music here. Might have to plug-in muh headphones, but I'd like to be aware of my surroundings when not in my own space...

"Someone" told me that Jane has a playlist for Studio 21 started...

So I saw.... Can't hide HootHooot

well said Fine Sir@lunchthehost )

Best of luck dear Chris, hope you a nice stay in the hotel, and then off to your new home. New homes for me and you, but mine was just a 7km ride to the next coastal village. The Lord is with you and we know what plans He have for you!

Ah the joys of the clean out! I remember that step. Took a good 9 months from start to finish of me selling/giving away/chucking all my stuff to move here, knowing I had a 50kg weight limit. On the plus side, summer clothes weigh a lot less than winter clothes!

I look forward to meeting you in real life when you get here.

Cheers Choo! You're awesome. You helped me to get my apt, and for some reason, I just trusted you with that. Guess what.... Linda "summoned" me first thing Monday. Phew. No rest... But fair enough, let's get that immigration baby outta the way.

Looking fwd to meeting you, too... If you like eccentric, you might even like me...

My people are your people Globo.

Awesome Choo!

Good luck and good travels @globocop.

Looking forward to seeing you in a smart new Panama hat broadcasting cool soundwaves from Studio 21.

You always make me smile penn... Love ya!

😎

Apropos Hat...
I forgot my BIG Texan hat...

Nothing is irreplaceable... :D

"Time to breathe again.!" then breathe @globocop, breathe )) best wishes to you in this new and badly needed life you will i am sure have !!Godspeed to you )

Thank you, dear friend. It is well.

Ohhh, Lordy!!!I can't even tell you how excited I am! Studio 21!!!!
Like, seriously....
Aren't you just...so..EXCITED?!
I'm kinda' freaking out.

It is well Sweets!

Waiting some more of your impressions from Panama, @globocop :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19