OK, Let's Try That Again... A Week Without Staking or Powering Up

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

A while back I started an experiment where I wouldn't stake tokens or power up any Steem for a week.
The goal wasn't to see if I could generate more Steem in that time, but rather to actually see
how much money my activity on the block-chain was generating.

See, if you stake your tokens in Steem Engine (https://steem-engine.com) then it shows your tokens as being worth $0.00 or zero and that's not accurate. You don't know how much they are worth until you go to sell them.

The same is also true of Steem if you keep powering it up constantly. How much liquid Steem are you generating in a week?

The only real way is to take screenshots of your wallet and your Steem Engine amount and then restrain from staking and powering the Steem up for that week, then taking screenshots again and comparing the two.

I was successful last time, but my computer ate the screenshots before I had a chance to publish my findings.
So, I am going to start again and post the results next week.

Steem Engine Wallet 30 sept.jpg
My Steem Engine wallet as of October 1st 2019


Steem Wallet 30th Sept 2019.jpg
My liquid Steem has been reset to zero Steem for the test and you can see my Steem Power.

I've also taken screenshots of the prices of my favourite tokens because I am likely to forget whether I am making a profit or a loss.

This test won't mean that I will be earning any more Steem than normal, just what I am earning is more visible to me so I can see if I am on the right track or if I need to change things.

Plus, powering up and staking has become an addictive habit. Sure, it's a profitable one, but it frees me up to create better content more often. I really need to remove the excuses for not uploading DTube videos.

The test will run from 2nd October 2019 12am Midnight until 9th October 2019 Midnight.

Wish me luck!

PS: Yes, I know that I can check this stuff in Steemworld.org, but I find it somewhat difficult to read / translate.

Sort:  

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @shaidon.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

!bookkeeping steemmonsters

Hi @shaidon!

steemmonsters

Received:

  • 364.356 STEEM
  • 151.123 STEEM from Affiliate
  • 0.000 STEEM from tournament prizes
  • 27.965 vested STEEM
  • 44.604 SBD
  • 0.000 SBD from Affiliate

Spent:

  • 326.522 STEEM
  • 0.000 STEEM for tournament entry fees
  • 56.158 SBD

Total:

  • 216.922 STEEM
  • -11.554 SBD

Steemworld only has five fill days with on display as far as I can tell. Then you have to add it all up. This is an interesting experiment. I might try it myself, but I'll need to set reminders or I'll forget have many days have gone by.

Posted using Partiko Android

It doesn't change anything in terms of actual Steem generated, but it will allow me to put my head down and focus on creating better content rather than obsessing over it too much. I just gave myself a week and wanted to see how much I was generating. It's so difficult to tell if I'm powering up all of the time.

I rarely stake or power up but you know what, this is a great way for me to start doing that again.

Staking and Powering Up is a way of giving back to the Steem block-chain.
It basically shows that you believe in Steem and the community. The more Steem Power you have, the more your upvote is worth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78