Blast From The Past!

in #palnet5 years ago

What a surprise to have seen yesterday at a kids play group!

I believe 80's and 90's kids would know what I'm talking about when I describe what it is.

I spy with my little eye something that is handheld, has 3 sticks, the middle stick is larger and decorated, you can do tricks with it, comes in different colors, takes practice to use and is definitely a time killer.

Can you guess?????

Devil sticks!!!!!

Omg I haven't seen this toy in ages! I don't know what happened to mine but I know they got heavily used.

Ya that's a screenshot. Someone was taking pictures of my son playing as I taught him how.

It's a pretty simple thing to use, the better you get, the more fun you have and your tricks are only limited to your imagination.

You would use the the sticks to balance, throw, spin the middle stick. Just gotta keep it from falling to the ground. Using the sticks, to start you would hit both sides of the middle stick so it goes side to side. Hard to explain lol.

Here's the commercial for when I first saw it come out.

And then here is the master level.

Of course, I have never reached that level as my imagination was more limited it would seem lol. I didn't have internet back then to teach me new tricks.

It was a real treat to be teaching my son something fun that came from my childhood. He needs practice of course as this was his first time so I plan on purchasing a set for him and for myself. Future goals #motherandson 😁

Have you ever seen these or had a chance to play with them??

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts. Your next target is to reach 300 posts.
You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh yeah! I played with those as a boy, too! I was awful at them, but they were a tonne of fun!

Sweet! I knew there was another that knew about them 😄
I'm glad you had fun with them ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm a 90s kid too bad this didn't become a fad in our country. Looks so fun but I guess it is never too late to give it a try lol.

Never too late! I'm 34 and I'm going to buy another set 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember devil sticks! I was already too old to play with them when they came out, but my sister was 11 years younger and some of her friends and she played with them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bah, never too old 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't own any growing up, but friends had them and I got to play with them a bit.

I'd definitely do some damage to myself if I tried doing anything with those! Either an eye out, hitting myself in the face or worse... In the goolags!

I watched the master video, some insane skills there!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha nah! That wouldn't happen. You would be so careful not to let it hit the goolags lol but you might hit your head lol 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd be so careful that the thing wouldn't spin and would just fall on the floor the whole time 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting. I don’t remember hearing about these sticks @foxyspirit. It seems like a great mother/son activity. Cute photo of your son.

Howdy foxyspirit! I've never heard of those nor seen them until right here so this was very interesting!

They are such fun. Playing with them brought back memories and I had just as much fun as I did a kid lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34