You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The holy grail? Carbohydrates stop the body's ability to repair.

in #paleo7 years ago

I completely believe this. There's been talk about it for decades, insulin is one of the main oxidants which make us need antioxidants.

But if I ever have any doubts, I just scroll down this post to look back on the photos of myself, over fifteen years separated, and the older guy looks younger. Acted younger too, had younger guy sex, had younger guy joy of life. I would have died 15 years ago if I hadn't stopped spiking my insulin levels so often.

Sort:  

Your story is pretty consistent with most low carb testimonials I've read, regardless of the "label" used. Paleo, Primal, Banting, LCHF. Most of them work because fundamentally they're cutting back on the carbs, whilst still maintaining the caloric input.

Right. I was on some of the early low carb forums and people were saying that even then. Of course, finding the mechanisms and getting objective data is a whole different thing, but it's nice to be vindicated.

I suppose that those folks who talk about calorie restriction for longevity are really seeing carb restriction. When your diet is only 25% of your previous diet, that's only 25% of the carbs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22