3 Mtr Painting! My biggest Commission to date

in #painting3 years ago

IMG_3944.jpg

I wanted to share the biggest artwork I have EVER done!!

This piece was commissioned by somebody who had a vision of this artwork floating around in their head for 5 YEARS! They saw one of my pieces hanging in a local cafe and said that as soon as they saw it they knew I had the style they had been searching for to bring their vision to life.... talk about a compliment (and pressure!!!!)

The artwork was just under 3 meters long and painted with watercolour and gauge on THICK watercolour paper.

First things first.... I had to basically pull apart my studio so I had the room to work on this. The whole time I was painting I had to slide into my studio sideways and set up a chair outside the room so I could get to my paints!!!

Then, I ordered a massive piece of MDF board from the local hardware store so that I could actually paint the thing! I put the wood over my desk (this was a 2 person job thank you @mikepedro!). I unrolled the massive piece of paper and taped it to the MDF board.... now.... time to sketch it out!!!

I had 3 different meetings with the client to work out exactly what it would look like and about 2 dozen emails. Half the reason this commission was so fun for me was because they felt that had literally had a vision of this artwork but also totally appreciated that they picked me to do it because of my art style.... so they had a really vivid idea of what it should look like but also wanted me to add in things to make it a full and cohesive artwork. After about 3 weeks of working it all out I had a super accurate sketch to go off and now bring to life!!!

The drawing/spacing probably took the longest out of everything. I have NEVER worked on any artwork this big so everything felt weird to me! Basically everything I drew I had to go back and make bigger despite thinking the whole time "this is gonna be too big, you wont have room for the rest of the artwork!" But this was also the most rewarding part...seeing such a big artwork all prepped perfectly and ready to go was a very cool feeling!!!

Ok.... from here I'll give you the progress in pictures!!! Watching it come to life each day was so cool for me, I hope you enjoy!!!

IMG_3014.jpg

IMG_3012.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

IMG_3028.jpg

IMG_3037.jpg

IMG_3101.jpg

IMG_3160.jpg

IMG_3164.jpg

IMG_3162.jpg

IMG_3185.jpg

IMG_3944.jpg

Sort:  

Your artwork looks very attractive. Good artwork :)

Awesome work, really cute.

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97