Chaos Dwarfs #13 Painting a fire elemental

in #painting7 years ago

Hello and welcome to another step by step painting miniatures post from me! Today we paint something different than the dwarfs I've been posting about lately. I got my hands on these spirit hosts last week and started converting them into flaming elementals. Today I'll walk you trough how I painted the first one which was quite experimental. 


Let's get to it!



These are all the paints I used for the fire, blended together with a glaze medium. 


First off I needed to build the base from clay and shape the tiles. Then I had to figure out how to make it more like an elemental rather than a spirit coming out of a dead body since the models themselves are pre-sculpted. I did all 9 of the minis, glued some rocks and sand on the base and got to spraying. Sprayed with black primer and then gave an overcoat with white. 


Next off I covered the whole model with glaze medium. I made a mistake not covering the whole model in white completely and it took me a lot longer to cover the black areas underneath with the yellow/orange colours but lesson is learned for the next 9 models I have to paint after. I did apply the lightest yellow first and started adding darker colours going towards the edges. Wanted the recesses to be the brightest in colour since this would be the hottest point of the flames.


In the same manner still with very wet colours mixed with the glaze medium I added more orange up to red at the very edges of the miniature and waited for it to dry. After the medium was completely dry I started applying some glazes to soften up some of the transitions. Also painted the base and added a few glazes of orange and yellow to create a glow from the flames.


Final step was to make the glow on the base a bit more visible, add pure white around some of the edges on the faces  and add synthetic grass and flowers on the base. 


Here are some pictures of the finished product.

  


 I hope you enjoyed the post! If you are interested in the techniques I use to paint my miniatures you can click on this link to a post explaining all the basics. You can check out my last Chaos Dwarf project post here! 

If you liked the post don't forget to follow for more, upvote and comment with any questions or thoughts! Have a great start of the week and see you again next time!

Sort:  

Very good tutorial. I used to paint minis to Warzone years ago but I didn't have internet and all this knowledge. I sometimes wan't to try them again and see what i can achieve now. Posts like this make me want to do it more so keep them comming. Check my posts, i sculpt and paint models too.

Thank you! I sure will check yours out too! :)

Wow that is some talent you've got there. Great work :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @george-topalov
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @george-topalov to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25