Road House (film) : Patrick Swayze brilliance

in #paindonthurt5 years ago (edited)

I'm kind of joking with the title. This movie is pretty absurd but I have to admit that it is a lot of of fun and also really funny in many ways. The one-liners, the lawlessness that people can just get away with until a bouncer grifter intervenes, the guarantee of the obvious romance starting, and the fact that the bad guy literally lives next door to the hero are just part of the run in this wonderful movie from 1989.

656cb3d82a0f936489305df3849fd7db.jpg

I have to admit that I really liked Swayze and was disappointed when he kind of dropped off the radar in the 90's and well, now he is dead. Before that though, the 80's were his playground as a good-looking bad ass for the most part.

The plot of Road House isn't terribly important but it goes like this: James Dalton (Swayze) is a manager of doormen or as they call it a "cooler" which is basically head of security at night clubs and for some god-awful reason he leaves NYC to focus on a middle of nowhere club called the Double Deuce in Missouri.

road_house_double_deuce.jpg

It is a popular place but riddled with violence. Of course Dalton is able to sort that out via his leadership skills, his ability to placate a situation without fighting, and of course being a complete bad-ass when he does need to fight. This is made even better when his motorcycle ridin' pal Wade Garrett (played by the always entertaining Sam Elliot) turns up to be his 2nd in command.

Road House 1.jpg

This movie has so many ridiculous moments and over-the-top fight scenes including a move where someone gets their throat ripped clean from their body. I don't know if this is physically possible but it sure is gross and/or funny, depending on how you look at it.

One of my favorite lines in a film of all time is delivered by Swayze when he for some reason refuses pain killer when getting staples to seal a stab would and he says

"Pain don't hurt"

in the late 80's Swayze could be in just about anything (i think this movie is proof of that) and his combination of charisma, good looks, and fighting skill would make the movie at least 10 million, and that is about what this one made. It is a mess, it is not good, but for some reason you can't stop watching. It is 80's personified and I unapologetically love it.

7 / 10

Sort:  

I watched this movie sooooooo many times on HBO.. back when there was only one HBO, and they played the same damn thing 4 times a week. And I loved it! (Kelly Lynch may have been a factor...)

But you forgot the 3rd leading man in this movie, without whom it wouldn't have been nearly as good.

"Road House" runs a fine balance between hilarious and unintentionally hilarious, and this is what makes it so entertaining. I could go on and on about all the things that makes this movie so entertaining, but the hands down most entertaining part would be the mano y mano fight to the death between Dalton and Jimmy... where Jimmy says what has to be one of the most classic lines ever spoken in filmdom. I won't ruin it for you, though. If you haven't seen it...go get it.

I know exactly what line you are referring to, and yes... it's PURE GOLD! xD

This is one of those movies that I watch on boring rainy days. Good vs bad. Classic stuff. He was always like a chuck Norris kind to me, but with a different style. Love the monster truck smashing everything up. ALL THOSE NEW CARS!!!!

Roadhouse is a perfect example of a genre of movie my boyfriend and I like to describe as "terribly awesome"! I really enjoy reading your reviews, I tend to agree with you a lot of the time. :)

I like how how Dalton causes like thousands of dollars in damage to the bar. Bouncers are supposed to get people out, not trash the bar with fights. I still like roadhouse for being big dumb fun

89! Well, this movie is even older than me, also as a bollywood fan, over-the-top action has been always my cup of tea! So, I think it will be a good movie for me to enjoy.
The story line is also reminds me of any typical bollwood movie from the 90's. From angry young man Amitabh Bacchan to khiladi (player) Akshay kumar.... All of them did these types of movies in their early careers and most of them were a hit on box office!

keep it going @gooddream!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't remember watching this movie with Patric Swayze, but I loved this actor. It's unforgettable in his film Dirty Dancing, a beautiful love story I've seen many times. The dance and the passion they transmitted in their dance was contagious :) I see that you like Road House, and you give it a decent score, I'll look for it to see, thank you for sharing, @gooddream.

Awesome move! Man I have to rewatch this, "Great Buick", he he...

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82