LITTLE KNOWN HOMES IN THE FOREST

in #outdoors5 years ago

We as humans, are often creatures of habit. I find this even in my hiking. The network of trails that I hike have several different combinations of ways that you can hike them, but mostly I find myself always going the same way. Lately, though, my exercise asthma has been rearing it's head a lot, so I decided to go on one trail backward to the norm. The hill isn't as steep if I go the usual route, but it's much longer, and is easier to breath. Along this trail is a fallen tree that until I hiked it backward, didn't reveal it's secrets.

IMG_5548.jpeg

This appears to be an entrance to perhaps a squirrel's home, or maybe a forest mouse. You can't tell from the picture, but it goes pretty far back into the log; almost looks like into the ground, actually.

IMG_5550.jpeg

This view is what I would usually see coming down the trail in the direction I normally took. It's really pretty, but you don't see the front entrance.

IMG_5549.jpeg

This is a close up of what I could call a 'side entrance' to the little critter's home. However, you'd have to be pretty small to fit through it! A mouse has the ability to flatten itself, so there'd be no problem there. I don't know, however if squirrels posses the same ability. I suppose though, it could be a chipmunk.

You can imagine a host of scenarios! Too bad I can't put a game cam out to see what comes and goes.😎

I hope you've enjoyed this little known home of a forest critter. Have a nice day!

Sort:  

I think squirrels are know to flatten and widen themselves when they jump from tree to tree to take advantage of air resistance. Nice post. Or it could be a snake also. Lol.

I could see that with the squirrels. Probably not a snake home as it's in the deep forest and they prefer to sun themselves on rocks or concrete around here. On the way up to the end of our road, I often find them sunning in the middle of the road. I'll grab a stick or two and pick them up and move them as they are sitting ducks for the cars coming and going. Sometimes, I'm too late to save them.😔

That is very brave of you, all the women I know here and even some men will scream at the sight of a snake let alone using a stick and picking it up. Well done.

Keep in mind all of ours are harmless garden snakes. I've held a 20' python before, but if it were poisonous, I'd let the cars have their way, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04