Original Song - 'Salt' from my EP, Silence in the Solitude

Here is the 4th song to my van travels EP. Written while I traveled around Australia in my van, and also recorded in my van using a basic laptop - audio interface - condenser mic setup.

Link Here
https://soundcloud.com/matt_blackwell/salt

This song, Salt is based around my thoughts and reasons for leaving the comforts of a job and easy life to travel around Australia for the last year. I had two goals for this trip;

  1. Was to ride out of a barrel while surfing... I'm still working on this, even after 90+ surfs at over 50 Australian surf breaks!
  2. My second goal was to write some music, which is where this song, and the other three songs that I've posted come into the story. I set myself the task to write and EP of six songs inspired by my trip. With Salt being the fourth, I still have two more songs to record for the EP to be complete. So if you liked this song and the previous songs then keep an ear out as I will be putting up these last two tracks in the next two weeks :D.

IMG_3362.JPG

Lyrics

I got salt in my hair,
Got my skin kinda red,
Cos I'd rather be alive than there,
Sitting in an ergonomic chair,

So I escaped in my dreams,
Still awake though it seems,
Cos I'd rather be alive than scared,
Breathing that air conditioned fear,

That's why I drove into the storm on my own,
A test of resolve and conviction some,
When I write to you I may pretend,
I don't fear the end,

I'm a little lost it appears,
There'll be time for love in this brand new year,
Cos I'd rather have tried than fear,
Regret for the things for which I could've shared,

I chose another way, another road to take,
I chose another road, not better, nor worse,
Just to try it anyway,

That's why I drove into the storm on my own,
A test of resolve and conviction some,
When I write to you I may pretend,
I don't fear the end,

When I got salt in my hair,
When I got my skin kinda red,
When I'm alive and when I'm dead,
I know that I will be content,
I know that I will be content,
I know that I will be content.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit! Explore + enjoy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47