Original Song - 'Let go' from my EP, Silence in the Solitude

in #originalmusic7 years ago (edited)

Subsequent to my introduceyourself post, here is 'Let go'; the first track of a series of songs from my EP, 'Silence in the Solitude'. I am writing and recording this music from my van during my travels around Australia.

Link here
https://soundcloud.com/matt_blackwell/let-go

'Let go' is about leaving my previous 9-to-5 lifestyle behind to live out of my van and venture around Australia. There's a theme of dissatisfaction with that career-centric lifestyle, which I've tried to express, and is part of the reason why I left that part of my life behind to head out on the road.

I recorded this track at a free-camping spot where I stopped while driving between Mt Isa and Darwin. By late evening the insects stop chirping and you're gifted with a complete and undisturbed silence. Its an eery experience, especially being out there on my own. But I've been able to channel it into some productive songwriting and recording sessions. The photo below is an exposure that I took on the first night camping in the outback, and it gives you an idea of the space that I'm recording in.

forsteemit2.jpg

I have used just a condenser mic linked to my laptop through a simple 2-channel audio interface, part of which you can see in the photo below.

forsteemit.jpg

I hope you enjoy listening to the track. I'm keen to hear your feedback so please comment below, and if you like my musical creations give me a follow, so that you're sure to hear future songs as I record them.

LYRICS

Traded your life wasted it on highs,
Blindly subscribed to the 9-to-5,
Pockets full of gold you're ready to shine,
Spent all your time til the last dime,

So the story goes of the average Joe,
Satisfied with his life riding status quo,
Oh I've been there before yeah I've walked this road,
But I choose to let go and I choose to grow,

It must be nice believe the lies,
Profit over conscience seen through glazed eyes,
Knock it all I like but your outlooks bright,
If that's what you like the money and the lights,

So the story goes of the average Joe,
Satisfied with his life riding status quo,
Oh I've been there before yeah I've walked this road,
But I choose to let go and I choose to grow,

Bridge

There's a curiosity that exists inside,
Choked by the smoke of the capital inclined,
If you open your heart and you open your mind,
You'll see through the gaze of your childhood eyes,

So the story goes of the average Joe,
Satisfied with his life riding status quo,
Oh I've been there before yeah I've walked this road,
But I choose to let go and I choose to grow,

Oh I choose to let go and I choose to grow,
Oh I choose to let go and I choose to grow.

Sort:  

Awesome track dude. You really have a beautiful voice, a unique style of guitar and authentic lyrics that hit the whole spectrum of consciousness. Sweet loving vibrations brother :)

Hard to believe how crisp your voice is. I can understand how you feel not only by your lyrics but how your voice shifts during the song from talking about your childhood to following the status quo. Absolutely beautiful. I followed you on Steem and Soundcloud. If there is somewhere I can hear more of you please send it my way.

-I post music reviews daily on my channel, check them out!
Steemit.com/@JesseSteele

I shared your story and song with my mom, she enjoyed it as much if not more than me.
Thank you, Matt.

Hi Jesse, thanks for your kind feedback! Great to hear you shared the song and that your mom enjoyed it too! I'll look you up on soundcloud and give you a follow.

Nice song! If you wish you can add it to #steemradio-chill

Feel free to add your favorites for @steemradio! We are working now at #steemradio-electronic (read more here ) but soon we will reach the steemradio-chill too!

Also @mattbleckwell we would love if you can mention about @steemradio if you like what we are doing here for the Steemit music community! Thank you!

Hi there! thanks for your feedback. Your radio channel sounds great! How do I go about adding a song to it?

Just post your song and tag it using one of our tags! Read more here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47