DENDROTAKTILIA: SOUNDS OF THE WOODS / ORIGINAL MUSIC

in #originalmusic7 years ago

Hey there Steemians! Here's a post I'm really excited about!

So, a few weeks ago my friend Bojan and I finished work on
a very special project called ''DENDROTAKTILIA''.
It was a first big thing we did together so we are still excited
about it and hope to share it with as many people as possible.

DENDROTAKTILIA is essentially an eco-art project that aims
to raise awareness about the mass destruction of the woods
and forests that surround us. The initial idea was to concentrate
on our local area but the message is universal: each tree is as
important as the next!
Dendrotaktilia is an audio-visual installation and a photo
exhibition that can travel around and be set up in any
kind of space and not just an art gallery.
Bojan is a visual artist so he did the video and took the photos
and I made the music.

dt.jpg
(here's an opening shot from the video)

dendro.jpg
(and this is a part of the photo exhibition)

The event took place in an old synagogue which was really cool
and the audio-visual installation was the center piece.
The video is 11:30 minutes long so it's too big for me to upload
at this point but I uploaded the music and that's what I want
to tell you something more about.

The music and the video were made separately and we had
no idea what the other one was doing until we met up to
put it all together. The only thing I knew is that the music must
be 11:30 minutes long. So how do you make a 11:30 minute track
that works well with the video containing shots of woods?

Firstly, I decided to divide the track into several parts:
INTRO - part I - part II - part III - OUTRO
I wanted all the instruments to be organic and to be
made of wood so I used a cello, an acoustic guitar
and wooden drums. The only thing not made of wood
were the cymbals and the tubular bells.
I wanted to make a kind of shaman-like native meditative
music that symbolizes the difference between the city
and the forest. That's why the INTRO and the OUTRO are
played on non-wood instruments - it's just banging on
cymbals and bells - to symbolize the chaos of the city.
The central 3 parts are all organic and in this kind of
a meditative groove to symbolize the harmony of nature.

So here's the track!
Tell me what you think!

Sort:  

Great work, Grobens! And that Štić guy sounds amazing as well!

Good post! I really love forest and I've blog about my Borneo forest too. It's truly inspiring and awaken your spirit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67