Origami Tesselations/Precision practice and Recovery

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

IMG_20180817_160735.jpg

IMG_20180817_162110.jpg

Since I still have to recover for about a week, meaning almost no laptop, limited phone use and minimum concentration strain, I decided to do some mindless folding practice involving tesselations.

I managed to fold both a hexagon and a square 64 times in all directions. Both models are from 1 A4 paper each

IMG_20180816_132726.jpg

IMG_20180817_133043.jpg

After finishing I decided to use them to make two design, they are both extended versions of models from a book: Origami tessellations - awe-inspiring geometric designs by Eric Gjerde

Here are some mid steps:

(nothing much about this one, I just do lines starting with middle going outwards)
IMG_20180817_133113.jpg

(my favorite part is when there are simultaneous pinches, seeing the folds fall into place)
IMG_20180817_135208.jpg

This is the first part, after that just goes pushing down parts into triangles.
IMG_20180817_160648.jpg

Since I'm a very hyper person, staying in bad and not being able to do stuff is horrible, only pain I have left is in my neck, other than feeling very sluggish I'm fine.
To be honest, when I wrote my previous post I didn't really know much about the situations, all I knew was that I had the worst injuries and was the only one in the hospital. The photos and details afterwards were honestly terrifying, to think I was sandwiched between two **** who shouldn't even have a license for something like this. One was rash and indecisive while the other completely irresponsible and inattentive. We were extremely lucky in this terrible coincidence.
Taking it easy for a bit hope to do more crochet since it's also relaxing and requires little to no concentration.

Also after a bit of reading I got a blue light filter and dim app which helps a lot,eyes are less bloodshot and way more relaxed, I'll find something for my laptop when I'll be able to use it.

Ps. My sister made a long post about the car accident since she doesnt have complete amnesia unlike me,still pretty hazy though. So if anyones interested https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kristyglas/thecaraccidentnophotos-minorinjuries-ujkmjkv8k7
Thanks for reading and your good wishes :)

Sort:  

These are lovely @ivan-g I tried to find the person on Tumblr who makes all different kinds of tesselations, but all I did was remind myself of why I deleted the app in the first place. I have read your sister's post and you are all so damn lucky even the idiot who rammed you pushing two stationary cars 15 meters further up the road has only minor injuries. Buy a lottery ticket seriously. I am glad that you are all getting better and if I don't hear from you for awhile I will know that you are taking the time to heal and recover.

Thank you, yeah, not a fan of tumblr either. My recovery is making stuff and less time on computer so I'll probably post stuff, might consider the lottery ticket :D

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Your works are really pretty @ivan-g. They would make very nice table mats if flatten-able or lanterns in their 3D forms :)
Do take care there @ivan-g. The lesser the movement, the better. Need to let those muscles heal. Do you need to do any physio?

Im actually planni g on doing a giveaway of origami tesselations coasters(flat) soonish, postage shouldn't be much since I can use an envelope(a bit more than dollar across the world,might even have 10-ish winners). I'll go for a checkup in a couple days and maybe physio when I go back if necessary. My hands are fine, just chest and neck ^^

Oo cool. That would be nice :) Can't wait for the contest to win it :D
I wish you speedy recovery @ivan-g!

Your work is as impressive as usual @ivan-g.
Your accident was horrible and as you say you were sandwiched between two examples of really bad driving!
I hope you make a quick recovery and try to take it easy. I'm sending you good vibes from Wales, UK

Thank you :D

Oh wow, that seems very time-consuming but I guess that's great to have something to do when you're stuck in bed. I hope your recovery goes quickly and please take care of yourself!

Time consuming was the point xD
Thank you, recovering pretty fast.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28