Origami Journey – Small Yellow Butterfly

in #origami7 years ago


steemit-enternamehere-black-yellow-butterfly-pixel.jpg
The artist's rendition of the artist's art

Back in December (2017) I completed the #alphabetartchallenge by @tonyr. For "O" I chose to make an origami octopus, and I can safely say that day was the beginning of the end -
the end of a life without origami!

After experiencing the frustration fun of making an origami octopus from a sheet of notebook paper, it was time to take the next steps on my origami journey. So I acquired a package of square sheets in 3 sizes and many colors with the mindset of
Fold them all! No mistakes, no worries!

Now, the moment we've all been waiting for, the end of the words and start of the pictures.



This particular origami journey started as a square of plain yellow paper.
steemit-enternamehere-origami-yellow-butterfly-before-1.jpg

Unable to leave tradition alone, I added some black circle shaped outlines for kicks.
steemit-enternamehere-origami-yellow-butterfly-before-2.jpg

A few creases and folds later...paper becomes butterfly
steemit-enternamehere-origami-yellow-butterfly-2.jpg

Oh no, my tape is showing!
steemit-enternamehere-origami-yellow-butterfly-blue-background.jpg




How do you feel about maintaining tradition in your work?
Is creativity a characteristic that is valued or suppressed in your field?

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Oh no, my tape is showing!

xD The circles make it really fun looking ^^
Also that hand writted rainbow text is sweet!! :O
My brother is crazy for origami (he's not on steemit.. yet :D )

Thank you @kristyglas, I appreciate the ♥! That colorful scrap tag is one of my favorites. We'll save a seat for your brother and his origami on the steemit roller coaster ☺

Ooh, I can totally imagine rainbow poem if you do poems :D haha

I'm going to hold onto that idea for later ☺ Thank you

Yes!!! I love the added flair!!

Why leave a canvas blank, right! :D

Its always great to try new things as an artist. You can always learn something new about art and also about ower world.

Great experiment that even learned to fly! :D

Yes, I also love exploring new ways to create. I had to get a picture of that bright yellow floating above the sky reflected on the water - it had to learn how to fly very quickly.

Thanks for stopping by!

So glad you found another medium for you to express yourself with/ for me to enjoy!

As for the questions in your bottom banner I feel like ritual is as important to tradition to me. I have special pens for writing special things haha.

And I think it's 50/50 when it comes to creativity in the field of freelance video editing.

Although I must admit I usually get hired to be creative.

I bet creativity is a valued ability in your field. Personally, I don't know anything about video and almost zero about photography, so your brand of creative is like some kind of special power to an outside observer like myself.

Thank you for supporting me. 2018 has been a good year to branch out in new directions!

2018 is such an important year in so many ways. Artists like ourselves are going to have to work overtime to capture the good and (hopefully not so much) bad

capture the good

I like that stance on art's purpose, as a way to capture the good (and the bad, when necessary).

Thanks :) You should check out my video series "The Emotion Archives". It's my attempts at capturing just that. The good and bad in us, through the eyes of a cold unfeeling computer.

https://steemit.com/life/@drwatson/emotion-archives-game-theory-will-help-you-forigve

I just discovered your blog and I am going to follow you! I am also an origami addicted and I love to challenge myself in doing more and more difficoult.
Around 1 month ago, I made a post about my collection of origami.
Have a look here if you like!
https://steemit.com/origami/@sandrina.life/origami-lover-advanced-origami

I feel like this origami dimension suits your creativity very well. It also opens up a whole new world of possibilities. Imagine some of your colorful art combined with these :O!

Yes, my mind is going crazy with ideas: how to combine mazes, origami, ink, collage, wax? This is a new dimension for me - literally! I actually just made a couple of frogs I'm going to post soon, keep an eye out for 'em ;)
Thank you as always!

My husband was very interested in origami for a time, he is far better than me, I am not very good at all.

I feel tradition is good when it brings a certain type of joy to your life.

Interesting! I see that link, carpentry and paper craft. Do you and Mr. R ever work on projects together??
That's a sweet take on tradition, find some kind of joy in it. I tend to observe tradition for a time then veer off into my own realms. Sometimes I get lost, but I've made it back every time so far. Thanks for having a look at the folded paper. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51