How to adjust a Short Strangle gone Wrong - Weekly Trade Update Week 12

in #options6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

today I wanna show you how you adjust a short strangle which goes against you.
But first let's have a look at my positions.

Yesterday I closed several winners, so there're not many positions left in my portfolio. But that is what you get, when the VIX is below 12.

Weekly Portfolio Update:

IWM Short Straddle:

This position started out as a July 157/165 short strangle. After my 165 short call got breached, I rolled up the put to the 165 strike and created a straddle. My overall credit for this position is $5.38.
IWM.jpeg

source: tastyworks

At the moment the straddle is trading for $5.54. So the position is down 16 cents ($16 per one lot).

SPX Put Calendar:

SPX.jpeg

source: tastyworks

I bought this calendar spread for $14.65, so at the moment the position is down 65 cents ($65 per one lot).

How to adjust a XLE short strangle gone wrong:

XLE has been a tough vehicle to trade so far in 2018. But that's totally normal. Every year you have at least one underlying which is bugging you.

First let's have a look at a chart of XLE:
XLE Chart.jpeg

source: tastyworks

On May 25th the position started out as a July 71/77 short strangle (30 delta) for which I got paid $2.08 ($208 per one lot).
XLE 4.jpeg
source: tastyworks

On June 7th my short call got breached and my deltas became too short.
So I rolled up the 71 put to the 77 strike, to neutralize my deltas and collect more credit.
XLE first roll.jpeg

What started out as a short strangle became a short straddle for which I collected $3.65 in overall credit.
XLE Delta neutralization.jpeg

Today (June 15th) XLE sold off quite a bit and my deltas became too long.
XLE.jpeg

source: tastyworks

So I rolled down my 77 call to the 74 strike to reduce my short deltas and collect more credit.
XLE 2.jpeg

source: tastyworks

Now I have on an inverted strangle (the call is below the put strike).
XLE 3.jpeg

source: tastyworks

I have only 19 long deltas now. My overall credit for the position is $4.96. At the moment the position is down 11 cents ($11 per one lot).
My original profit target hasn't changed. It is still 50% of the original credit, which is $1.04.
Had I not adjusted my position, I would be up 93 cents. But it is very rare, that you get whipsawed after rolling up the put. In 99% of the cases mechanically adjusting a position is the right decision.
As long as the price of XLE stays between 74 and 77 I will be fine.
The most you can make on an inverted strangle is the credit received minus the width between the strikes.
So in this position: 4.96 - 3 = $1.96.
I'm not sure yet, if I'm going to wait until I make $1.04 in profit. I will probably closed the trade as soon as I can get out with a little profit and then reestablish a new position.
We''ll see...

Have a great weekend,
Stephan Haller

Legal disclaimer: These are not trade recommendations. Options involve risk and are not suitable for all investors. The trades shown above are for educational purpose only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99