Burning your own shipssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #options5 years ago

Recently, I found a book called The Art of Acting Smart, written by Rolf Dobelli. The book consists of 52 short columns describing 52 pitfalls we should avoid that are caused by our thinking errors, cognitive fallacies. One of the chapters was called why you should burn your own ships, or in other words, why you should limit your options. The argument behind it is that if you have too many options, you might start running around all of them, but in the end not end up fulfilling any of the potential outcomes. In the column, Dobelli gave couple quite extreme cases of some ancient war leaders who used this technique by literally burning their own ships, so that it would leave no other option than to win the war they had stepped into.

In the cryptocurrency world, there's hundreds of possibilities, if not thousands by now. Even Steem as a blockchain based social media is no longer unique; there are many others like, Whaleshares, Weku, Scrotum, Sola and Smoke, just to name a few I've heard of.

I have a tendency of being scattered-brained and not being able to close the doors. Even when traveling, I might not be sure where I'm spending the next night – sometimes it works well to just go by the flow, but other times, I've noticed it might've made things a bit easier had I planned appropriately.

For some reason though I'm not really interested on any other blockchain based social media outside Steem, excluding Smoke (Steem fork, but branded for cannabis community) where I'm mostly just upvoting stuff. I think it mostly comes down to the fact that I've been here for over 500 days and feel quite committed to this place, not just because of the time spent here, but because of the relationships – that I highly value – formed thanks to this place.

I have a hard time believing how any other platform could give more than Steem has. And even if it did, it doesn't come for free on other platforms either. Jumping to another platform, I feel like I would be disregarding all my work or whatever I've done here, and trying to have a presence on several platforms at once would be too much to my concentration; I have had it hard enough already just to focus on a single thing at once, so I don't need any additional distractions from the things I find valuable.

Sure, some other platform could be "the one" and "you shouldn't put all your eggs into one basket", as they say, but how much does the latter really matter if all the baskets are those from basketball? (I prefer my eggs intact.)

This is not me saying I dislike Steemians using other platforms nor am I saying you shouldn't use them – everyone is free to do as they please and should however they see best. I'm simply just stating my personal truths here. After all, I'm someone who gets overwhelmed – resulting with procrastination – just by having to get an appointment to dentist, finding a job and selling my calculator online (and thinking of getting rid of a lot of other stuff as well).

In any case, attention directed to another platform is going to take it away from the other, especially if your aim is to really engage and build a presence and not just cross-post your content, and this effect increases the more platforms you try keeping up with, resulting with mostly running between doors and not actually stepping through any of them.

Sort:  

I should also sometimes burn my ships so life would be easier. Except when it comes to Steemit and Whaleshares (where I am too). There simply isn't enough hours in the day so that thing makes my decision for me. I am still here because I've invested money in Steemit, so I totally get your: "I feel like I would be disregarding all my work or whatever I've done here." I think it would be foolish to leave Steemit after all the work.

Never enough time to do all the things we want :D

Agreed, while there are many alternatives, I can’t seem to stick to anything but STEEM when it comes to consistent content creation. I use SMOKE sometimes and cross post to STEEM, and I also use PiePie (formerly Lit) to earn Mithril tokens by posting daily Snapchat-like content. Other than that, it’s all STEEM for me

Posted using Partiko iOS

PiePie (formerly Lit) to earn Mithril tokens

Ah, earning some sweet sweet Mithril (I'm a bit of a LOTR geek) almost makes me want to try it out... but nah :D

LOTR is what got me too haha
But it might be worth checking out. Because it’s an ERC token each MITH is directly exchangeable for ETH using the “Mithril Vault”

Posted using Partiko iOS

This piece reads like Odysseus (on his one ship) wrote it! Great focus!

You mean that what I wrote is similar to the way Odysseus has written? Not sure if I understood. But thanks anyway! :D

Maybe not wrote (Odysseus was a sailor not a writer) but how you are a valiant navigator of your own life!

Ah, I see! That's pretty cool to hear :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.120 which ranks you at #3208 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3205).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #127.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27