Stop Saying and Believing These Things

in #opinion6 years ago (edited)


Recently, I've been getting triggered by those who make statements that they can't back up.

If you are going to throw out an assumption in the form of a statement, please tell us how you formed your opinion.

Here are some of my least favorite assertions:

End Users are leaving because __________

What is your criteria for measuring this?  Users are leaving?  Are there Industry Standards for an acceptable attrition rate?  I believe that Facebook also has an extremely high churn rate.  However, I don't know what it is.  What was it in their first 2 years?  How do you know that end-users didn't just start an account to hold their Steem?  It is the wallet, remember?  Where are the exit interviews to backup the reason they are leaving if they are leaving at all?   If you are going to say it, give us a little indication of how you have reached this conclusion.


If we don't do __________ it will destroy us.

This one was recently presented by a Witness regarding Haejin.  If we don't get rid of Haejin it will destroy us.   Sorry, I don't like how Haejin conducts himself, but I certainly do not find the situation to be castistopic in any way.  He is only receiving ranchorelaxo's share of the reward pool and a few others that upvote him for whatever reason.  He isn't impacting anyone except for the lip service he gets and the upset he is causing.  I flag him and appreciate those who do, but I just don't think it is an emergency. 

The Trending Page is Terrible and will stop investors from investing

Actually, I've been here for nearly two years and I find the trending page to be the best it has ever been.  This is the first time period it is a surprise what will be on it.  Most people now understand that if you use the bots to upvote yourself to the trending page it is going to get you visibility and that means both positive and negative scrutiny.  Some crappy posts occasionally get up there, but that has always been the case.


Anyone who does/doesn't ________ is selfish and ruining this for everyone.

No, you are forgetting there is no approved vision for the platform, in fact SteemIt is the proof of concept application and it is going to become the firehose.  The rest of the applications will dump into SteemIt, while activity focused sites will be developed by teams who can choose to fund, develop and support a specific type of activity.  For a few people it seems like you made up some arbitrary rules and are kind of mad that everyone didn't just accept your vision.  Like deciding the only fair way to play Monopoly is with one dice and then being mad that everyone else is playing with 2 dice.  

The Majority of the Community Feels/Thinks ____________:

Again, what is your source of information?  I wasn't aware that anyone had developed an accurate polling mechanism for the site.  Don't confuse the loudest voices with being the majority.  Also, the majority doesn't rule here.  It is a stake based system and any voting or decisions are made with the full weight of your stake. 


SteemIt is supposed to be about Quality Content

If you follow me, you likely already know this is my most hated phrase.  Talking about quality content in my opinion is a waste of time and energy as it is not only subjective, but there is no reason to believe that "Quality Content" brings more investors or more traffic.  In addition, I think it is actually harming engagement.  I don't want to repeat English Composition 101.   Some would guess that we lack engagement due to low quality content, I would guess, a lot of people don't want to participate, due to the focus on Quality Content.   I want people to find others they find interesting and engage with them.  Not all posts will earn, but there is room here for people who do not wish to be involved in a "Content Competition".   

My point is there are many ways to view this platform and to gather Steem and anyone can say what they like for the most part.  That makes each one of us responsible to consider what is being said and evaluate it.  Is it a fact?  An opinion?  Is it reasonable and measurable?  I am not saying that any of the above statements can't be true, I am just suggesting that you ask a few questions before you just start to accept and repeat something that someone on the Internet said.  :)

You are now free to move about the Steem Blockchain.

@whatsup


Sort:  

DAMN I saw this at $0 and I was like OH SHIT I can get major curatoion then I upvoted and you had just voted I guess

Hey your PICTURE isn't loading! The URL is messed up here

you may want to edit you are post

ill go DM you in discord ull actually get the message lol we need mongo fixed so we have steem notifications again

hey did you see @surfermarley was saying @ned promise dto be reading steemit daily now? And duuuude I'm going to start paying for big posts to get to trending soon its almost time, but honestly I think I'm saving a lot of money by not using the bid bots and just finding whales to get auto upvoted by, which requires a lot more posting I believe, and commenting,

you could have a video show dude, you need one to explain all the stuff your talking about, theres not enough space on a blog post to go over it all

I heard you and @seablue and @richardcrill in steem experience so yeah we could use you guys talking like that everyday you really should because we need it

we need you guys to have an NPR type show like real relaxing nice radio atr end of the day to listen to when driivng home from work etc

Ned actually interacted with me a few days ago. It was weird.

Prolly cuz U are growing like a WEED? :D
6000+ SP in 3 months??? :o

Really it's like 800 SP in 3 months, I bought the rest with BTC. Don't think either had anything to do with Ned though, he was talking to me in someone else's comment section.

That's what I call the Brute Force Method ;)
I made my last big purchase after the BTC 20k run-up, I was online when it hit the Big # but coinbase was down BOO-HOO lol
I at least caught the bounce back up to 17k and sold off then. All that went into Steem ASAP and caught that up-tick. I felt like a PRO until I HODL'ed myself out of an $8 sell price LOL
Could have bought back in at $1.50 but I HODL with Powering Up... like a good little Steemian Dolphin ;)
Nice to meet U, and your comment was refreshing! :D

Here, take my tip.. Yeah, I don't know why, I've tried linking it several times.

I totally agree with you
A video show is just the best

Sweet. Mad Libs. I haven't seen these in a while let me see what I can come up with.

End Users are leaving because they're being abducted by the Mexican drug cartel in order to populate their new crypto blogging platform.

If we don't do meth it will destroy us. "It" being the Mexican drug cartel.

The Trending Page is Terrible and will stop investors from investing. There is no blank here.

Anyone who does/doesn't get a fishing license is selfish and ruining this for everyone. If you don't fish you suck!

The Majority of the Community Feels/Thinks that the Star Trek franchise should never have been taken over by JJ Abrams. They're not supposed to be action movies.

SteemIt is supposed to be about Quality Content. There's no blank here but I will be serious for one moment.

Steemit should be about putting out whatever kind of content you want to put out. The community will vote for whatever they want to upvote. It's not about following a rigid set of rules, it's about having a good time.

And this comment comes from a talented "content creator". This gentleman is actually a talented writer, a blogger, an Author and he retains a sense of humor and gets that this is supposed to be fun! :)

Steem is like a microcosm of the real world. There are always complainers and doomsayers, ideologues and zealots, elitists and snobs. People consumed and possessed by fear and malice and screaming for the world to join them in the vision of their own personal hell.

Reality is somewhat different from that. Life is slanted towards the good. An individual or small group can break the chains of the detractors and be triumphant.

True it is just frightening how often I see people just mindlessly repeating something they "heard". :) I guess I need to thicken my own skin about the complainers, especially since I was once one. :)

SteemIt is supposed to be about Quality Content

Steemit is kind of opinionated about what constitutes quality content. I think the solution is more platforms. Let the Steemit community enjoy their long-form blog posts but create and support the communities that communicate the way you prefer.

I'm a visual artist. I don't want to stop my art work to document proof that I created it. I don't enjoy writing about my work. The work is the work and it is finished when it's finished. It's double the work to make a suitable, curation-worthy Steemit post featuring my art.

I'm also a developer so I see the solution as creating my own platform. The api is open source. On Nikema's ArtShare Site, artists will feel no guilt about posting just art. It's pretty much considered spam and low-quality to do that here.

Such a great point and another use case that can be drowned out if we focus on one type or style of content!

I know we have a lot of artists here and like every single other person on the site they feel their work is undervalued! If we unite artists with artists and singers with singers maybe that will help people recognize the quality in each other's work!

I appreciate you responding to the comments here, including mine. Your responsiveness encouraged me to reply.

I've adopted the idea of "walking out" of systems that don't work for me. It's why I don't send my children to school and why I am looking for solutions using the STEEM blockchain to fund and facilitate educational communities.

Walk-outs are people who leave systems that failing them and go on to create new ones. The idea is you can be more effective when you start something new than you can trying to change and move what's already established.

I love this. I like to say... "Take what you can use and leave the rest alone". To me it means kind of the same thing. :) If you like it use it, if you don't leave it be! :)

I'm happy to meet you, I've followed you.

the truth Steemit gives for much more than many believe. However, every day I have seen users and communities interested in educating others about the correct use of the platform and everything we can achieve from decentralization. it's not seeing Steemit as a mere business

There isn't a "correct use" of SteemIt in my opinion. It can be many things to many people. :)

Yeah, I do not like haejin either but I don't think there's anything wrong with what he is doing. If he is exploiting the system, there is always exploitation of any system - tax havens or proxy directors of shell companies to evade identity - some call it tax cheating, others tax planning. It may be unethical but not illegal and ethics are also possibly subjective. I do think that some people may be getting misinformed by his assessments and well one can debate, whether he needs to be stopped or people should be allowed to suffer if they can't tell good and bad.

trending page, i disagree a little. i mostly see resteemed content and i do see a lot of 0 effort posts. but again, one can always spend some time - a month or 2 to identify quality content and just read good stuff on one's personal feed.

I do agree with most of the things you have written though. Without data, most claims are pointless. Investing in steem has nothing to do with posting. I first invested in steem without wanting to write anything or read any content on it. I liked the idea and just wanted to invest in it. Over time, I do want to develop my own content space on it because I think it is a much better platform to start from scratch than traditional social media. Even if I can't develop as a content creator, I think there plenty of avenue to engage with others and talk about different things and I have over time started following diverse bloggers and people happily engage.

And over time, if users go up, content will improve for most people, and problems will be solved. Every problem that you have stated or that you've seen other people stating, can be solved at a personal level by most users.

Killing voices, intent or opinion is probably never the best idea. It is not a good idea to kill the voices of content that one may not personally enjoy and its also ok for people to complain about what they think may be wrong with the platform. Its a free platform to share uncensored opinion. that to me is the beauty of steemit.

If we were really based on strictly financial gains, it is the developer and the Investors that are the hardest to come by.

A unique system my previous company had for helping managers set priorities was consider what people/systems were the hardest or most expensive to replace. So, we discarded college education, years of service and other arbitrary modes for evaluation and were encouraged to consider ... If you lost this person tomorrow how hard would it be to replace them?

I love this concept, if we look at what is adding value to Steem right now, developers and investors are the hardest to replace. I love our content providers, but they are a pretty abundant group.

I agree with all you said in this post. Keep preaching, some of it will may stick.

HAHA.. I am tickled you used the word "Preaching", because I know I have been sounding a bit preachy lately. I almost used the word Preach in the text box of my image.

It is a choice and I know it isn't making me popular, but I feel like someone has to paint a vision beyond a simple Blogging site. :) Thank you for the support as I know I am triggering a lot of people. Sigh.

We need a voice of reason here. You're good.

Lol

Honestly, this was my first and last reaction

I appreciate your honesty, but wasn't clear on the feedback. :)

For a few people it seems like you made up some arbitrary rules and are kind of mad that everyone didn't just accept your vision

Some people here are the jury and judge and the convicted, lol, make the rules, break those rules, judge themselves and rant about it. Lol

End user will come and go, it's an natural process and this attrition phase happens everywhere, in my opinion most of the end users came with an mindset of easy earning and they left because they find it's difficult than 100 times what they think, i can relate with this subject because, i also came hear with the aspect of easy money after leaving my HR job because i wanted to take care of parents and want to do some work from home jobs, but slowly i found that, this platform is not going to be easy and i have to literally sweat if i am not an investor, but blogging is my passion because i write whatever is associated with my experience and whatever inspiration i get from the surroundings, and i never think about quality or not because i love to write different things and i write, no matter if i will get upvotes or not i will continue my work because i know first passion is important then money will come, that's why i spent on Steemit at least 10 hours a day and in 210 days i posted approximately 12000 posts combined blogs and comments and replies, and all are organic and genuine, so it's all about what you like and what you dislike, some people felt this journey tough they left because they didn't get any inspiration to continue and same i can give my example, because i am passionate towards my work that's why my focus is more engagement than upvotes because upvotes come when you engage more. And i agree with you, trending posts are now reflecting better picture than before and post should not be judged just because someone is using Bots. And yes, we didn't participated in any polling yet so, Steemit is individual driven platform and everyone is continuing and leaving due to their personal experience. Thanks for sharing this important post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39