That new Steem smell.

in #opinion5 years ago (edited)



You know that smell that depending on where you are standing assaults your nostrils, it even seems to be moving but never can you place it. Specifically when it comes to people; they can seem perfectly fine and are not an outright issue. Heck, they are perfectly tolerable but that smell can catch you off guard.

When it comes to a movement or catchphrase whatever like #newsteem you do not want to find yourself on the front lines; for one thing, it will make your eyes water and another it is kinda just meh.

Fair enough I find most things a tedious bore, and many times it is just because I know that it might just not matter. It does not stop me from often falling into the trap of going into hype-beast mode only to later realize that I should instead have just focused on me.




This is not about you.

Ok, sure #newsteem is about the bigger picture, it is about the amazingly positive oh so fantastical chop onions with no tears future of Steem. The content side specifically, the governance side even more specifically and that ever catchy lyrics like mumble rap slogan proof of brain.

I still remember snorting in derision when I saw a vid of Steem presenting and Ned said that the community will make sure only the right things get rewarded.

Now that I think about it, he could just have meant in about 20 years time, which makes it a lot more valid. Sure people can change, or at the very least you would have eliminated most that do not want to fall in line by then.




What is the Steem line in the sand?

Right now that line is #newsteem , and tomorrow a mystery. Well, not completely a mystery. Tomorrow will bring moderation and control, everyone has had their taste of unbridled freedom; they are hooked and those that are not well good riddance.

So as I started, this is not about you or me. It is about us, the Steem community. It is about training - should I say me or you, fucked if I know. It is about training us to only reward:
popular things
undervalued things
high valued things

I am just going to be naive and say things that you want to reward because you see value in the content, person or you enjoy the content.

Reward for the content, person or value in the content

That in itself will already be disagreed on. I think the big pressure point in the above sentence will be "Person". I think there are quite a few that do not think you should reward content just because you like the author, and fair enough many would mention that in regards to auto voting.

That is what #newsteem also wishes to change. If you care about curation that is then they have a way to enforce you change your behaviour and not auto vote people whose content they dislike.

Given it is a targeted situation, else a passing downvote fuck this person I don't like what they did at all is just shit happens. If it keeps happening, firstly would you notice and second are they right?




You are confuckulating me with all this dribble.

You as in me, and me as in you. Hope that clarifies things, I would hate for more confuckulation than what is required. What I am trying to get to is this:


The amazing @ocdb or @ocd over #newsteem honouring me by requesting someone else to reprimand me about a vote I bought for them.

Now I am not really sure what irks me about this but that single sentence, the account status and the execution - maybe my execution or maybe @whack.science's if I do not comply - all have their own peculiar smell.

Just as a side note, sorry I littered your post a bit @whack.science I could have sworn I had more drug money to buy illegal votes with and forgot to hide it appropriately




I should thank the curation gods

If I were to I would actually thank @curie since they did reward my posts before it was cool to do so. I have been extremely lucky on steem, for someone who does not make sense 80% of the time and mainly just rants about stupid shit I have always had some support from others.

Much of that has nothing to do with my content. So that would mean I will be one of the first out of the gate now that it is all about the content for a hot minute.

I digress. I should probably be thankful @ocdb did not downvote my 1 Steem vote I purchased for @Whack.science's post. I should probably be thankful they were not petty and downvoted all the votes I purchased for others.

The merciful clay gods of Steem.




My Modus Operandi

I think I have covered enough backstory and a little bit of my thinking process in a vague yet interesting manner.

I like @tipu and in the good old days I have tried bidbots, bid being the operative word. I do not like too much uncertainty or even competitiveness where inequality already provides others with an edge. That is absolutely stupid. I am only partially stupid.

So I use @tipu which use to be able to promise a positive return of up to 20% , jokes on @cardboard because I would have accepted anything more than 0. I think he figured that out eventually.

It is a convenient service due to me being able to call it from within a comment, I can actually tip Steem directly but I do not. I get tokens in return for votes and as a minuscule delegator, I get 2 cents steem every day as part of my share of all votes sold.

Other than a sales pitch what is the reason I even mention this? Well I don't actually use @tipu on my own posts, I also do not tip Steem directly because I like to see the value on the post. I am vain like that.

Maybe that is why the @ocdb comment irks me because I am a vain, egotistical needy inbred whose momma does not even care enough to hate him so I reach out to be noticed by others and with every vote, I buy them I jizz myself with the thought of how great thyself art. Pretty sure the part of my mom is 100% the rest I am too weak to admit so 90%?

So that is my modus operandi. I buy votes for:

  • Posts I like.
  • Because I feel like it.
  • Because I like the author and have not voted for a while.
  • Because I don't want to seem poor. :P

Why don't I just invest that money and get my own vote higher? Well since The interfaces insist on displaying values according to that S(hit) Dollar which is a Bastardized Steem Dollar the values that are shown look horrible and I do not think does anyone any favours in regards to perceiving any votes below a certain amount especially 0.01 as something positive. To get a vote of 10 - 30 cents worth I need 10 000+ Steem. A quick pat on the back is more manageable.

How much do I buy? Well I tend to buy 1 Steems worth, but could go less. Since I am not actually the kind of person to consistently visit posts apart from a handful I tend to choose an amount that is not mega because I am poor :P and becuase I calculate how many posts I can kinda go vote on with what I have.

On the one hand it makes me have to comment and read and on the other it boosts the post and their day little, I hope. A post which I enjoyed and other.

Maybe people see the post has a little more than the others in their feed, they go see why because obviously it might be something almost popular and you gotta vote what is popular. Right?

Then there is that I can. I can use the service to give a little more. Now there are still many different points I could touch on, some for me some wholly against my own reasoning but the main thing is that I am doing #mysteem and that is a definition that is ever-changing just like the real Steem.

Sort:  

It's this:
"You there, tell that person sitting right next to me, who can hear what I'm saying, to not to do the thing what they do, which I and my friends have decided to dislike."

< rant>

And it's of course this:

who are the people you bought the vote from

Self voting is bad. Until those people who said that it's bad, think they deserve more rewards, are big accounts and decide self voting no longer is a bad thing. Because they deserve a self vote.

Commenting that someone has upvoted someones post with a copypasted text is bad. Unless it's a community doing that. With a big account.

Autovoting is bad. It used to be good because that way you do not waste your voting power when you are on holiday / working / not Steeming. But now it's bad because you probably will sometimes also upvote automatically not that good posts. Because it has to be about the quality content. Always.

And then there's also this:

Who is the person I voted?
I mostly have no idea, most do not have their own firstname.lastname in their account. And I have not met most of the people in Steem. I just liked the post. But if someone has, and they now for some reason think that that person I voted for is a bad person, then that makes me a bad person because for goodness sake, I should know everything that has happened here and is happening all the time, who fucks with who and who said something bad to someone else.

Franter over and out. </ rant >

One more, final edit:
I really love the song. I always have. Think I heard it first time when I was in my teens. And those kind of songs really weren't popular then anymore. But I never wanted to be popular. I wanted to like what I like. Like you. :)

Yip, all in all, it is puke in a tumble dryer. A bit of guilty by association there by the end which I think I have fallen in that trap before but try to avoid it. I also think we all make mental note of whether we feel someone is acting responsibly or just trying to make a quick buck on the platform then we tend to avoid them even if we might like some of their content. The big accounts obviously have more say but if we all just did what can be generally agreed is ok then maybe we can get to what is the "right" way :)

So they don't want people upvoting other peoples' work with services like tipu and minnowbooster? I would consider using those on others' work to be rewarding what you consider to be great content. Isn't that one of the most basic goals?

For minnowbooster, they ban people from using the service if they abuse it, upvoting either their own, or others' bad posts. And when I've looked at the channel for reporting abuse on their discord, it seems to be pretty active, meaning they are at least actively trying to be responsible, and long before the hf/21/22.

I always thought that rewarding someone else with the extra upvoting options, is essentially an individual doing the same thing that the curation teams do, which is rewarding content creators for great content. So I don't understand how this is logically a bad thing for individuals to do.

Yes, I agree with that and would only be devils advocate on the point that I think the issue is where that money is going that you pay for the vote. As I said that day during the show I like tipu because cardboard seems like an honest and good person, that he makes a little ontop is just business. As with Minnowbooster you now have the issue that who are the people you bought the vote from, do they cash out every chance they get things like that.

Sure if we were whales then it would be silly because we already have big votes and can earn even more by using them, maybe sell our votes to minnowbooster then :) So stupid that I try to reward people myself I guess. I agree that I don't see the issue with the amounts I do and also because I do think that I at least partially have good intentions vs ...

There's absolutely NOTHING wrong with what you do (rewarding other posts with tipu) because the value of your SP vote is lower than what you feel the post is worth (in your opinion)

I think the NewSteem promotors frown on it because they fear Ghost accounts using the method to hide self-voting.

You might have touched on this in your post that I 'missed' or someone in the comments (which I didn't read) :>) If so...I agree...

I think I'll just go back to sending steem directly to wallets once again, and more often? Starting with YOU :>)

I definitely see the issue and understand if they then were to flag all those types of actions if they wish whether you are being nefarious or not. I say nefarious though only because that is the current view on selfvoting, altaccounts votecircles etc. We are all just figuring it out so my main point is probably also my weakest point and is in essence just: "rather me than the other badactors" :) I did say it is weak lol. As free-reign pointed out if done properly it also a means of "curating" with the only diff is you are buying that power. I guess I could lease Steempower then auto vote all the largest accounts and probably make my curation that way or something. 9 ways to skin a cat right.

Thank you for the tip and it is one of the options I do not really use with @tipu right now but maybe I should. I won't be a dick and return the full amount but I shall provide you an example maybe you like it :) and maybe @cardboard can add custom messages which makes it a bit more personalized aswell as conveniently lazy. !tip 0.1

🎁 Hi @angryman! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @penderis!

Check out @penderis blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

If you ask me, then it's all just a bunch of re-arranging of the deck chairs and pure PR spin - nothing more. Just a big shitfight over who will convince everyone to give them all their money (just like in the real world). Always has been and always will be. The only thing that changes are the faces. 'Hey look it's me! I'm the new person in charge so I must be good, because the old people that were in charge were a bunch of cocksuckers! '

That's just me and my cynical ways, so if you're not asking me, then just move along and buy the #newsteem hype. 😂 Same as the #oldsteem with new faces.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed, I am not a fan of such defacto opinions when things are not exactly set in stone. People being so vocal while bareback riding the next trendy movement bug me because I know they did not swing that way before :) Fair enough overall it is a good shift in mentality, but it is also not a new thing, some people have just been acting better than others. Some I do not mind if they bot it up because I know there is worse that don't contribute or even powerup. As for the saving whalebots I have thought about that before that since steem anyway just mimicks real-world economic tragedy that bots or any business on steem should be doing a % of community work. Make sense?

Anyway my head always spins a bit because there is just so many avenues and once you bring ethics in it is a fucking nightmare. I will just end it on something that makes sense:

The Cocksuckers are dead. Long live the Cocksuckers

I approve of that ending😆

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like this - as a piece of writing! Aside from the points you are putting across - and how ludicrous it makes what is supposedly evolving here. What I really like is you made it into an entertaining piece of writing - which I have now read three times - I liked it that much.

I do wonder how long it will take for what few active users we have left to leave, solving one problem by creating new ones never tends to work out well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think those here purely for the quick cash will probably take a hike, they are the most active of course :) Not to be mistaken with the person that is really just trying to build their account and have found a pattern that works for them slow but steady. It is not the best content but it is their content. They and the arsehole look very much the same until you interact with them.

Glad you liked the writing and I agree it is all a bit "ludicrous" that is why it is best to just look ahead and trudge on adjusting your stride for thorns in the road and don't hold up traffic.

Congratulations @penderis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @penderis!

You just got a 0.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73