What Is Keeping You From Running Linux? Is It The Software?

in #opensource6 years ago (edited)

Linux has a full array of high quality free software that will fit pretty much any need.

I'm going to show you what I think are the better/ more popular examples of the software in each of the categories. The thing about open source and the Linux ecosystem is that there are so many choices in each. If you happen to not like any of the particular softwares I show you here, you can just search for another alternative and chances are pretty good that you will find something that does suit you.

  • Operating System: The myriad of Linux operating systems are called distros which is short for distribution.

Linux Mint: I use Linux Mint as my workstation OS for mainly because I don't try to run down problems in my daily driver. This is a very solid OS and rarely has any real problems, but if any do come up and the solution is more than a quick search with a verified fix, then I just "nuke and pave". By nuke and pave, I mean I just re-install the operating system. It only takes about 2 hours to completely re-install, move all files back to the system and log back into all my network services. Internet services are not a problem because I use syncing on Firefox. Once I sign in and sync Firefox, all the rest of my logins and preferences are right there ready to go.

  • Browser:

Firefox: The most boringly useful tool I use is my browser. No matter what I'm doing, the browser is open and active. Of course, you can install Chrome or the de-Googled Chromium browser as well as a ton of others.

  • Video:

KdenLive: A full featured non-linear video editor. It is well regarded as a fully capable alternative to the professional choices out there. I'm not so sure about that, but I'm sure it works well enough for the vast majority of content creators out there.

Handbrake: Video transcoder. Handbrake is easy to use for straight forward stuff like making huge files smaller or changing things like resolution or frame rates.

Blender: 3d creation tool - and so much more. This is my absolute favorite piece of software. I often have a hard time believing we get to use such a powerful and complete story telling tool. It is a steep learning curve, for sure, but it can do everything a video maker could want. Blender is what I made my logo in, which you can see at the bottom of this post. I don't know what else I could have made something like that with.

  • Audio:

Audacity: Audacity has earned a solid reputation amongst the audio producers out there. It is in the realm of industry standard software. It is certainly mentioned and praised all over the place.

  • Graphics/ pictures

GIMP: GIMP has just recently gone through a major overhaul from what was already a very well respected piece of software. To be clear, this is a professional quality software and as such is not necessarily well suited to someone that is not looking for the plethora of features available.

  • Video player

VLC media player: I would be remiss if I didn't mention what is possibly the most beloved open source software used by all the operating systems out there. VLC will play pretty much anything you throw at it. It can play streaming network files, local files or even internet based ones on platforms like YouTube and the like.

  • Office Suite:

LibreOffice:: More compatible with Microsoft Office than Microsoft Office! The only problem you might face if you come from Microsoft Office if if you use macros in your spreadsheets. This is a very reliable and full featured suite.

  • Email:

Thunderbird: Simple yet full featured email client from Mozilla. Thunderbird supports multiple accounts and the latest encryption.


I used to really hope for more marketing for open source in hopes that it would "take over" proprietary options. Now I see that we don't need to worry about what other people are doing. So long as we have the option to use what we want and open source is allowed to thrive, then that is all that matters.

It is all about choices.

I hope to see society progress into the future by open sourcing all the things. I see open source now finding its way into all sorts of our lives such as hardware, education, food and medicine to name just a few things.

What Is Keeping You From Running Linux

@dbooster

Sort:  

I'm using Linux for everyday stuff, but most games still need Windows. And Wine/Playonlinux is not a solution.

I have to admit, I have never had any luck with Wine/ PlayOnLinux either, but it has been a really long time ago and I was trying to install some off the wall junk that wasn't supported. I'm not a gamer, so I don't know much about it.

Yeah, Steam on Linux is still not able to play my full library of games.

Videogames. ...and Scrivener, I guess.

I've been dual booting for ages. Not happy about it.

It looks like Scrivener was working on a Linux install and abandoned it. That's a bummer. It does appear that it works well under Wine. Check this out

In case you aren't familiar with Wine or PlayOnLinux, it is a compatibility layer to run Window software on Linux. It runs many popular games too.

As for games, Steam runs on Linux, if you play any of those.

As you suggest, I can find a workaround for Scrivener. I am going to wait for the release of version 3 for Windows, see if I can make it run with Wine.

Games are still a tough nut to crack. What if a year from now, a new game comes out, that I absolutely need to play? This thought always stops me when I'm about to cut the Gordian knot...

You can always dual boot. When you install Linux, if it sees Windows there, you can leave it there and install Linux along side it and you can choose what you want when you boot.

Lol, yup. I hear that.

I'm on Linux-only for years now, and it's working just fine anything I need. You could also add Open-/LibreOffice and Thunderbird to your list as alternative to the MS Office/Outlook packages.

Very good point! I can't believe I missed that. Editing now...

btw, you can run many windows apps using something called playonlinux (in case you are wedded to windows apps).

Ubuntu is wonderful to use and once you get used to it there is no going back.

unity-3d is a nice desktop too

What Is Keeping You From Running Linux?
Drivers for professional audio interfaces.

Ah. I've heard that is a problem. That is something I don't know much about/ or anything.

What is keeping me from running it?

Honestly? The learning curve and lack of familiarity. I just need to commit to doing it. I talk about decentralization so this is a step I need to take. Getting out from under the thumb of the elite is crucial.

Started the process of backing up some of my files to wipe Windows off my laptop.

One question: do you find there are things you encounter that wont work on linux...where something is only made for Mac and Windows.

I really want to try it out ! - BUT - I will only do it, when have spare comp - which isn't the case at the moment..

I just can't afford for anything to screw up, without a working comp available....and I know so little about comps to begin with...

I'm sure I have list of silly questions, which I will avoid asking..lol

Noooooooooooooooo...way too silly.
I'll save those for when I have an old laptop ready to obliterate, sat in front of me..

The answer for both you and @taskmaster4450 is to get your feet wet without comitting - it's easy as pie to install VirtualBox (for free) and run linux as a virtual machine. You can pop in, play around, and then retire back to windows when you need a break, all without dual booting, needing a second machine, etc.

Same :)
I think there are windows linux distros that should make the transition easier but still did not do it yet.

Can't get much easier than Linux Mint. Just make sure your stuff is backed up. I hope you give a try.

naw i think zorin OS is the best fit for me-could be wrong

That looks like a good one. I've heard of it, but hadn't seen it.

Open Source could be considered the first general expression of Blockchain tech. Every user can verify the software and its functionality and ensure that it does not have breaches or backdoors.

Very similar to how Blockchain works. Ya gotta do it taskmaster4450!

My new favorite word is UBUNTU! -(the most solid OS) It is an African word that holds the same meaning as Namaste. "The God in me recognizes the God in you.

Well put. The combination is going to be very interesting going forward.

@taskmaster4450, you can try it without even installing it. Try this LinuxLive USB Creator and just give it a try. You can see if you like it and then install when you wish.

Linux is SO similar to windows there is barely any learning curve. The biggest difference is your collapse/expand/exit boxes are on the left instead of the right.

No kidding, that's literally about it. It runs soo smoothly, it is so clean and clearly relieves the user from manipulative software and spyware etc. that Windows' criminal cartel OS needs in order to manipulate the user.

I LOVE Linux. I have had zero problems since I started using it.

Run a lot faster than windows too?

Absolutely. Especially if you go with the Linux Mint XFCE version. There are even lighter versions, but that is the best all-rounder, in my opinion.

It needs to be as easy to use as Mac OS X, you know, without needing a degree in computer science to set up. It also needs to be soccer-mom friendly. It would also help if the nutjobs who name the software decided to use common sense names. "Gimp" sounds like a plush toy...

Etcher destroyed a thumb drive of mine - any clues on that?

Unfortunately, I don't know what could have happened there. I have been using Linux for a good decade and that is how long it has been since I likely used Etcher or something like it.

Etcher has a decent reputation, so my wild guess is that it was a "shit happens" thing.

Thanks for the reply - s'pose it could have been any of a number of factors. Just wondered if some other users suffered the same.

I like your style and content. Thanks again - have a nice day!

I am on a Linux laptop right now, but until there's a proper CAD suite, I'll still be needing a Windows system.

Have you tried FreeCAD? I'm not a CAD user, but one of the projects I was on uses this and they seem happy with it. I don't know how good or bad it is, but I know they do a lot of development on it because I'm constantly getting updates for it.

It has been a while since I tried it last, but it is way behind AutoCad, Solidworks or the like last I knew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11