OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 97steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

97 weeks running and the music continues to flow!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As the creative team continues building our song for the Open-Mic Mega-Mash Up, our workload continues to build as well. So much so that I haven’t had time to post a proper update for a couple of weeks now.

The creative team and I are extremely pleased with all of the auditions and entries thus far. The project is moving along nicely and right according to schedule. This coming week, we’ll be tracking HORNS!

I trust that once the project reaches critical mass, the workload will get a bit easier and allow me time enough to provide a dedicated update post. I hope – Hahaha! Until then, I’ll keep the community updated here in my weekly top-5 posts.

If you haven’t done so already, please check out all of the posts associated with the forthcoming Open-Mic Mega-Collaboration.


New Mash.png

The Original Announcement Post

Update #1.

Update #2.

Update #3.

Update #4.


Should anyone have any questions or wish to participate in the “Mega Open-Mic Collab,” feel free to hit me up on discord >> @passion-ground#5524.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Next Up, a few words about our Sponsors

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Please, VOTE for These WITNESSES...

IMPORTANT: Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk as witnesses! @pfunk is our biggest supporter, and plays a major role in helping to fund, the Open Mic contest each week.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Every last one of us should be proud and honored that @pfunk continues to weigh in at #18 on the witness list! It wasn’t that long ago that he was struggling to hold onto the #20 slot. Let’s keep this up, okay - @pfunk all the way - to #1!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

In addition to @pfunk, I am also adding @curie, @ausbitbank, and @aggroed to my short list of “must-vote-for” witnesses who support the Open-Mic venue.


You can vote for each of these witnesses right now by going directly to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

With all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 97

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @joseacabrerav – Inefable - (Original)

As soon as the first few seconds of crazy fun subsides, Jose gets right down to business with his most captivating performance of “Inefable! I was struck not only by his flawless guitar playing throughout, and the wonderful camera work capturing his brilliant performance, but also by the sheer beauty of the composition itself. Jose’s playful nature is simply icing on the cake!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@joseacabrerav/mux6jqx8

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @chaifm – Dreamkeeper - (Original)

She’s back! It’s been quite a while since we’ve heard from @chaifm, and let me tell you guys, it was certainly worth the wait! Dominique’s “Dreamkeeper” is to my ear is a beautiful blend of East meets West. That great opening guitar work and her vocal melodies within the verses carry a rather compelling Eastern flavor. A lovely little bridge then spans the world, which takes us to a rather catchy chorus that is quite familiar to my Western ears. All of that coupled with quite an impassioned performance left me no choice but to include @chaifm in my top picks this week.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@chaifm/steemit-openmic-week-97-dreamkeeper-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @tribedownsouth – Gremory - (Original)

This is quintessential “Tribe Down South.” His dreamy vocals and signature melodies never fail to capture my interest. As always, upon further inspection, he always has something rather meaningful to say with his lyrics. This composition is about breaking on thru to the other side after hitting proverbial bottom. Creativity abounds within this one-man Tribe from Down South – check him out!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tribedownsouth/steemit-open-mic-week-97-original-or-gremory-i-s-a-a-c

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @cabelindsay – Grace Us With Your Embrace - (Original)


I’ve always loved Cabe from the first time I heard him. Now that he’s introduced “the one he walks with” to us (@wildfamily), I’m in love with her too! This particular arrangement, penned specifically for their children is not only touching, but it has a magical way of drawing you in. Cabe’s guitar intro sets the tone perfectly. Soon thereafter, their beautiful vocals render the tenderest of lyrics wrapped in the sanctity of a most warm and inviting melody. When I heard this, I became just as grateful for it as they are.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@cabelindsay/steemit-open-mic-week-97-grace-us-with-your-embrace-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @paintingangels – Swim - (Original)


The first thing one can’t help but notice is just how incredibly adorable Serena is! Her beauty extends far beyond the sweetness of her dainty voice and her inherent Southern charm – which by the why, comes neatly packaged with a slight twist of quick-witted sarcasm! Serena penned “Swim” on the fly after ditching a previous composition – simply because she felt like it. As a result, we’ve been gifted this week with “Swim.” In my view, Serena is bullet-proof, and yes, I very much believe in her!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@paintingangels/ma9hn6nf

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fourth: @wilins – Mala Compañía - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@wilins/o3m4ato2

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @orlandogonzalez – Una forma de soñar - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@orlandogonzalez/steemit-openmic-week-97-una-forma-de-sonar-a-way-of-dreaming-cancion-original-orlandogonzalez

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@elisonr13, @dinoromanelli, @ill-esha, @dianakyv, @juliolunar, @mayneth, @silentscreamer, @miguelblanco, @alejandra23, @michaeldietrich, @honeymoon-1611, @skycorridors, @siomarasalmeron, @lisamalletart, @darrenclaxton, @mariajruizb, @moccamonica, @davidsuarezms, @cpereira, and @rodrigo98!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:


@elcascriollo, @k0wsk1, @danieldedosd2, @leomolina, @minuetoacademy, @yusaymon, @oswaldotorres, @coruscate, @samjgonz, @lucybanks, @maycorjerjes18, @juanhobos, @drewley, @irelandscape, @yisusgtr, @kkarenmp, @manurodriguez, @mcmusic, @andreamaestre1, @jqalirio, @shephard, @jarradlevi, @diegopadilla, @enriquemarval, @ferchemusico, @abelfernandez, @lostgalaxy, @acustico2384, @lk666, @theangelsdf, @williansjmm, @cezanne, @zuelivictoriat, @emiliojmoreno, @dreamrafa, @gerardomarin, @vecca-vecca, @enriquesalgadoc, @rjcha, @donatello, @ingridkorneelia, @guacamedia, @nior, @chrisroberts, @gibber, @graceleon, @johnthefelon, and @josevallera!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

It's embarrassing that I call myself a writer but yet I can't express in words how happy it makes me to make it into the always magical Passion Ground top 5.
Thank you so so much. It means so muchto hear you say you believe in me. Comes at a time when I really needed to hear it.
Much love to you!
Thank you thank you.

❤️❤️❤️
serena

You're quite welcome, Serena!
Much love and many hugs... .x
Thank you, too... ;-)

I hug you, @passion-ground! Thank you for your great work. And thanks, too, for the consideration.
REVERENCIA (10).png

Always, @wilins!
Thank you in kind, my brother...
...for your friendship and incredible artistry!

Wow, wow, wow.
Thank youuu, for the words. Yes, I felt very good singing this non-traditional scales. All the best to you!

and yes I was taking some time away to work on my music in a different dimension - also just spent the whole weekend recording, and soon there will be a real first single of one of my older songs Map of my mind. Super super excited about that.

That's fantastic, Dominque! Those different dimensions you are exploring appear to be expressing themselves in very measurable ways! Thank you for the kind wishes... .x :-)

Hey thanks so much! I'm feeling like my sound is developing as I find my voice, find confidence, try new things. Much of this growth is thanks to your encouragement, and thanks to the #openmic's invitation to keep on playing. Cheers!

Thank you very much for such an immense honor, I send you a big hug from here!

Your welcome, Carolina...
A big hug right back to you!

¡Gracias! So cool. Don't miss this week's!!!

You're welcome! I won't...
I always look forward to your entries! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27