STEEMIT Open Mic Week 43 - Original song "911". Emotional rollercoaster, composed on the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 attackssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians.

The story behind me writing this song goes back to 11th of September 2016. I remember that it was the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks and it was all over the news. I was scrolling through my Facebook feed that day, when I suddenly saw some really awful sad videos from that day.
NICK-911-OM43.jpg

It was a rollercoaster of emotions for me

I remember being very sad, angry and feeling empathy at the same time. I couldn't imagine what the affected people were going through. I couldn't fall asleep that day, I was overflowed with some strange emotions.
It was 2am and I decided to grab my guitar, since it usually helps me to express my feelings and to feel a lot calmer afterwards.
I automatically started to play some sad melodies, that came directly from these emotions, and this was the beginning of this composition.

The composition


This composition was made to capture these emotions and make them into a story.

0:13 - Peace, calmness, routine (The calm before the storm)
0:32 - Unexpected panic and chaos
1:08 - Everything happens in slow motion, shock, memories
1:27 - Handling the chaos, survival instinct
2:08 - The grieving

I recorded this video for Steemit only. This is a live performance, where I'm playing the main melody and capturing the emotions on my electric guitar. All of the other instruments were recorded on the original date of the composition by me (piano, drums ...).
This song is still in an early stage and I look forward to finishing it and hopefully have it on my album some day.

I would also take a moment to thank again @pfunk and @luzcypher for making and contributing to this beautiful contest! I totally admire you guys, for the time spent shaping and bringing this artistic community together! Props!

Thank you for listening and I hope you liked it.
And thanks to everybody who's supporting me in any kind of way. You people are amazing!

Peace and Love,
Nick J.

Sort:  

You have an awesome piece there brother! You have some nice tone on that guitar and effects. The vibratos sound extra nice in this. Nicely done!

Congrats on this post too! It did really well.

Thank you very much for the nice comment! Glad you liked my guitar sound, I used a swell pedal with some reverb and delay, to create this effect. Have a great day! :)

I think one thing I noticed that you can improve on in the recording is just playing some of the notes with a little more ease. Some of your slide-backs were a little harsh, and clipped the recording a bit.. What I usually do to fix this is finger-pick instead. The smoothness of your finger makes the tone a lot more subtle.

That's just my opinion, simply giving some constructive criticism to help you improve for future :P

Only my pleasure brother. I saw you visited my blog :) We should stay in touch. I am posting two high-quality posts per day at the moment. Talk soon.

Thanks for your criticism, it always helps if it's constructive...there is always room for improvement, in everything! :)
My pleasure too, I like your blog posts! Hear ya! :)

Awesome man! Good to see you're positive about things.

Talk soon. I'll posting in a couple hours. Talk then. I gave you a follow :)

You really made a fantastic story with your music. Great stuff. Keep the music alive.
Peace!!!

Thank you very much, glad you liked it! :)

Nice! Great music and emotions coming from this one! I remember watching the events of 9/11 unfold on the news and feeling super emotional too... You've got a beautiful touch on the guitar! 🤘

Thank you for the nice comment, I appreciate it and I'm glad you liked it :) keep on rockin' and have a great day!

Great stuff! Love the guitar tone too.

Thank you, it's great to hear that from a professional! :) Have a great day!

Very cool man! I love how you napped out the song structure in such a way to tell a story and I think each section fits well with the theme you were going for. Very creative.

Great work :)

Thanks. Keep on playing! :)

Hbn? Check my first comment lol

No problem man! :) Have a great day :)

Very calm n full music story, nice work
Proud of you

Thanks for the nice words and support! :)

Loved your post! Keep it going

Glad you liked it, thank you! :)

Wow, just wow. There was just so much emotion being put into this. Thank you for making this. I still remember being in school when the attack happened. At that time I didn't really know the impact of it. Hope we can all learn and be inspired by this. Learn to be vigilant and be inspired to move on and keep living a good life despite everything that has happened.

I totally agree with you on this one! Thank you for watching, have a great day! :)

This song is fantastic, relax, congratulation !!!

Glad you've enjoyed it! Thank you for watching :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83