Photos for three days in Bangkok, #286-288/365, รูปภาพสำหรันสามวันในกรุงเทพฯ, the OPED project.

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

The routine in Bangkok is spending time traveling in my car and getting stuck in traffic jam. Naturally, I am surrounded by concrete jungle of high rise buildings and condominiums. I sometimes take the BTS or sky train which runs along Sukhumvit road to do some shopping and meetup with friends at one of those posh shopping centers along this road

02srabtcre.jpg
(# 286/365 Sky train platform at Chidlom station)

It is possible to live a more enjoyable life with less stress in Bangkok; I just have to avoid the city center. But, the city center is full of energy, attractive shopping centers, numerous restaurants, coffee shops and plentiful super markets! On Tuesday I had to get some light bulbs, in the old days I would have to get them at the local grocery store. But during the last ten years, all the small or local grocery stores had all disappeared and been replaced by 7/11 and 24 hr shopping marts. The traditional shops were crowded out by modern, air-conditioned, computerised checkouts stores owned by large conglomerates who could afford to have all their branches at the corners of every road in big cities. The big complex called Home Pro is located at the corner of Wireless road, right in the middle of all the modern condominiums. Here, we can find almost everything related to interior furnishing of a home, from kitchen to gardening section. The managemnet is simply a genius, as more than 200,000 condo units would need at least a kitchen utensil, new carpet for the sitting room, pillow cases, a sofa, or new light bulbs. This store is doing a roaring business. They even have a big section on DIY and all the tools, including all kinds of paint. I did maange to get a few light bulbs at half price.

mq2cu8i8qg.jpg
(This photo was taken while waiting for the next train on the platform)

The photos of the lighting section just show how big this shop is. There are altogether four floors of merchandise with many store assistants who would greet all customers as soon as they come up the escalator.

j97j2k19r7.jpg

qi2sw4zi8j.jpg

Another huge shopping center called Central Embassy is just opposite Home Pro. This new center has a space age design of metalic exterior. This looks very nice during the evening when the lights are switched on.

4rvoir9mhf.jpg

Wireless road, one of the few roads in Bangkok where the big old trees have been preserved, can be seen from the skywalk opposite the shopping mall. There is always heavy traffic on this road, most expensive condominiums can be found dotted along this old road where we can also find the US Embassy, Japanese Embassy and the British Embassy is just next to Central Embassy shopping mall.

g843l4w6xv.jpg



#287/365, Thursday started off as a very grey day with spasmodic shower, I had to see my friend at Amarin Plaza too find out why she didn't turn up for lunch last week.
She was very apologetic and told me that she had acute pain in her abdomen so she had to rush to see the doctor at the hospital. But there was no cause for alarm as it was just a cramp, not that cancer lump as she was fearing. So, I had my fast food lunch and she treated me some Thai desserts she made that morning! We had a good chat and she wanted to visit me in the countryside some time.

m4g89m5exa.jpg

nkckh2osmh.jpg
This photo shows more new condominiums under construction just right behind the Amarin Plaza. I can just imagine that Home Pro wil be stocking up plenty of wine glasses, sofas, beds, lamps and light bulbs for numerous new owners!



#288/365, My Thursday morning was very promising as I did manage to go to the gym for the first time in many years.

989kufxb07.jpg

I gave myself very realistic goal, a warming up quick pace walking for about 20 minutes. I thought I would not be able to achieve my goal as I had an accident last year with my back. I found fast walking for 10 minutes was very easy for me, so I started jogging. Then I did some weight and finsihed up with light yoga to cool down. I was glad I did go to the gym, it seemed the gym fairy was with me! During the afternoon, the sky became overcast and it dizzled a little to cool down the temperatue. I was still driving right in the city center saying hello to all the tall buildings!

ucziqjkgo8.jpg

faz5skctx1.jpg

Luckily the rain clouds were blew over the city and we only had light shower for an hour. Life in Bangkok can never be boring nor standing still. But this puts a lot of stress on my body and mind subconsciously. I notice that I could not enjoy deep sleep as I did in the countryside. The quality of air and surrounding vibes are far more superior to Bangkok. I hope people will have a chance to be near nature from time to time, nature is so healing and comforting.

kurzjbw4fs.jpg
(Let''s have some water for cooling down a bit!)



เรากลับมาถึงกรุงเทพฯก็ ต้องมาเผชิญกับสภาพถนนที่แออัดไปด้วยรถติดเป็นประจำ ความจริงถ้าเราต้องการความสงบและชีวิตที่มีคุณภาพเราก็สามารถทำได้ โดยการหลีกเลี่ยงการเข้ามาใจกลางเมือง แต่ก็ยากมากเพราะในเมืองมีทุกอย่างที่อำนวยความสะดวกสบาย มีห้างขนาดใหญ่ที่เราสามารถหาซื้อของได้ทุกอย่าง ร้านอาหารและร้านกาแฟดีมีให้เลือกมากมาย และมีที่นัดพบปะเพื่อนเพื่อกินข้าวได้สะดวก เพราะมีรถไฟฟ้าและรถใต้ดินหลายสาย เราเองกลับมาก็ต้องไปซื้อหลอดไฟทดแทนหลอดที่เสีย ถ้าเป็นสมัยก่อนเราก็จะเดินไปหาซื้อที่ร้านขายของชำตามถนน แต่สมัยนี้ร้านขายของชำหายไปหมดแล้ว ถูกแทนที่่ด้วยร้าน 7/11 และ มินิมารตที่เปิดตลอดกลางคืน และมีการติดแอร๋์ และใช้เครื่องคอมพิวเตอร์ในการคิดราคาเพื่อจ่ายเงิน เรา ก็เลือกไปซื้อหลอดไฟที่ห้าง โฮมโปรที่ถนนวิทยุ เพราะมีของทุกอย่างที่เกี่ยวกับการตกแต่งบ้าน และของใช้ในบ้าน ตั้งแต่เครื่องครัว โซฟา โคมไฟและหลอดไฟ ที่นี่มีสี่ชั้น แต่ละชั้นมีของให้เลือกหลายแบบหลายยื่ฮ่อ และมีพนักงานคอยให้ความช่วยเหลือมากมาย เราได้หลอดไฟสำรองมาหลายหลอดเพราะกำลังลดราคาครึ่งหนึ่งพอดี

วันต่อมาเราไปหาเพื่อนที่อัมรินทร์พลาซ่า เพราะเธอผิดนัดเมื่อวันก่อน เธอก็ขอโทษเราใหญ่และบอกว่าปวดท้องมาก ต้องไปโรงพยาบาลเพื่อหาหมอ เธอกลัวเป็นมะเร็งกระเพาะ โชคดีที่เป็นเพียงการวิตกจริตไปเอง เธอเป็นตะคริวเท่านั้นเอง เราหาอาหารจานด่วนกิน แล้วมาได้ของหวานไทยที่เพื่อนทำมาขายตอนท้าย ก่อนกลับก็ได้ถ่ายรูปบริเวณหลังตึก จะเห็นโครงการก่อสร้างคอนโดมิเนียมใหม่ๆหลายแห่ง เราคิดว่าโฮมโปรคงต้องสั่งแก้วไวน โชฟา เตียงนอน ตลอดจนหลอดไฟอีกจำนวนมากทีเดียว เพื่อสนองความต้องการลูกค้าที่จะเป็นเจ้าของคอนโดอีกมากมายในอนาคต

วันพฤหัสเป็นวันที่ดีมากสำหรับเรา เพราะเป็นการเริ่มต้นการไปยิมเพื่อออกกำลังกายในรอบหลายปีที่ผ่านมา เราตั้งเป้าแบบเบาๆให้ตนเองคือการ เดินเร็วประมาณยี่สิบนาที แต่เดินไปสินนาทีก็รู้สึกว่าง่ายจัง เลยลองวิ่งดู ก็วิ่งได้และสลับเดินจน ได้เวลาสามสิบนาที ต่อด้วยการยกนํ้าหนักสิบบาทีและยืดเส้นแบบโยคะอีกสิบนาที ทำให้รู้สึกดีมากที่ทำได้ สงสัยเจ้าที่จะคอยช่วยเราอยู่เงียบๆ เราขับรถไปทำภาระกิจตอนบ่าย เจอฝนเบาๆ เพราะเมฆดำถูกพัดไปทิศอื่นหมด เราตั้งเป้าว่าจะไปว่ายนํ้าด้วยภายในสัปดาห์นี้ ก็หวังว่าเราคงไม่สามารถหาข้ออ้างใดๆมาเลี่ยงจากสระว่ายนํ้าด้วยเถอด

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos!
Yes, I agree with you that vegetables, fruits, berries are much more useful and tasty if it is to grow yourself.
But, I try to grow tomatoes, raspberries, black currants.
And this I can not do, mostly our climate is to blame ...
I grow kumquat and we eat it with pleasure.
I planted a column-shaped pear, cherry, plum, apricot - I'm waiting for the result.
So I want them not to die ...

Wow! You must have quite a nice garden! You have more vegetables Than I have! And those berries! I could not grow them here!
Cherry, plum and apricot!! All my favourite fruits!!

:-)))
I do not have a garden.
I have 2 balconies.
Plum, apricot and sweet cherry - all this I'm waiting for that they began to grow.
While small sprouts gave only a seedling pear.

I am amazed what you could grow on just two balconies.
If you had a garden, you have planted a tropical forest!

hahaha - that's for sure!
At me so (almost) as on a photo:
The husband asks his wife: "Darling, can there be enough house flowers?"

ICIkHlIwszA.jpg

КОШКИ---4---.jpg

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-13T09:39:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 1011.55/200.00
Total Photos: 136
Total comments: 169
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.81 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Are you one of the new home owner?
BTW, typo "rouinte"="routine"

Hey! Thanks a lot! I always miss the big fonts!
Yap! I have recently started to embark on self-sufficiency way of life! Consume less and try to grow my own food and support local farms and produce. It’s a beginning somehow in case there’s a Third World War or serious natural disaster!
So many educated and rich people around the world are prepping for the inevitable collapse of the food chain one day!!

Praying very hard that things will be alright most of the time with the Grace of God!

Cheers.

You're welcome. I hope there's no World War but natural disaster are unavoidable.

I like your cityscape photos

Thanks for the great post. my friend : )
I like and love Bangkok because it is my home.
But I hate pollution from cars and factories that are not standard.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kaminchan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66