Hospital Photos and Thoughts on Health

in #oldtimers7 years ago

I had to get up in the morning before the rising sun the other day and take my friend down to the hospital. I’ve been doing this from time to time and it is really pretty fun. Of course there are a few things that are not so fun about it but you know how it goes…

I’m so glad that my friend is getting healthier and I can help out in this way.

While we were waiting I noticed this really neat art object in the atrium.

art.jpg

Here’s some more information about the Stetho art piece shown in the above photo. From what I understand the little hammers are supposed to move and hit the musical pipes and chimes as people more around and open and close doors. We tried opening and closing the doors and watching for a long time and listening carefully but nothing seemed to be working.

artDescription.jpg

I remarked to my friend, “Perhaps somebody complained of it being too noisy and they turned it off or somehow its gotten disconnected and doesn’t work anymore.” He kind of looked at me without much of a comment.

Earlier I kind of amused myself taking pictures of this blowfish in the tank. It was swimming all around pretty fast so it was tough to get a nice sharp focused picture.

blowfishBlurry.jpg

The more I started paying attention to it the more it started edging closer to the top of the tank. I got this nice, “In your face,” kind of picture as a result.

blowfishFace.jpg

Some people were starting to watch me struggling to take a good picture. I didn’t want to be accused of any fish abuse as a result of the traumatized blowfish swelling up to full intimidation size as a result of me smacking the camera into the fish tank, so I left the tank alone, LOL.

Here’s another picture of some of the slower swimming fish and the nice waiting room chairs:

FishtankWaitingRoom.jpg

This is so much better than some of the hospitals that I’ve heard historical accounts of.

Getting Healthy

I guess I wasn’t that focused on my health when I was younger. I pretty much ate, drank, smoked and made merry. I’ve learned over the years that it is good to pay some attention to what you are doing in the moment and how it can affect your long term happiness.

When I was younger life was more about feeding my desires and a youthful optimism that by always following your bliss somehow things would work out for the better. After all, if you are genetically programmed to desire sweet things why shouldn’t you eat sweet things?

“Moderation is for Monks, let’s eat drink and be merry,” was one of my favorite sayings as a youth.

I guess I’ve slowed down a bit and learned how to do a few things I don’t exactly ‘desire’ in the moment. I’m looking forward to a second childhood of sorts. One with enough time to wander around looking at all the wonderful artworks. I’d rather do what it takes to stay healthy at this point in my life. I’ve quit smoking, and generally live in a much healthier way.

For me this has been a lot about looking within and really paying attention to how things are in my body and environment and finding social connections that are comfortable.

With any luck I could live a great many more years. Perhaps even have time enough make some art myself or help find partners for all the lonely blowfish swimming around in strange hospital fish tanks, lol. Each day can be exciting and worth living.


Thanks for reading! All pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

It is true what they say: Youth is wasted on the young. Oh, yes. There are things I probably wouldn't have done, or perhaps done a little differently.

I find that I was a lot more fearless, a little less careful, and somehow much less in control than I thought. The older I get, the more I know how little control we have over our own lives. I find that I have handed over the spiritual reigns and that so much more in my life has balance now.

I love the fish in the waiting areas of doctors offices and hospitals. I feel like it gives a person something else to look at, think about or focus on. Or perhaps to enjoy the carefree fin action. I don't know.

I am glad your friend has you to accompany him on his journey. I will bet he appreciateds it more than you know. tip!

Dear @lightsplasher you all support this is a very good work. You also support me???

The instrument you highlighted above is very interesting but if its sounds are triggered by human movement, why didn't you get to hear them? Does it operate on a frequency below or above that of humans? I agree with @dswigle on being less careful and less controlled in the thought when we are young. I find myself behaving like that and with each passing day, I too realize that we have little control over our own lives.

The blowfish is quite funny and is in the face picture is really cute. Have to show it to my son tomorrow when he wakes up.

The art piece was very interesting to view in spite of it not making any sounds. I hope your son enjoys the blowfish picture. When children are young they are often very interested in animals. Today a very young child started yelling excitedly at Dog-oh as we were walking along, she couldn't speak a word as far as I could tell. She was really happy and that made me happy too. :)

How sweet is that. My son is the same. He loves animals and makes friend with even stray cats quite easily. He gets too excited on seeing fishes, cats and dogs and even donkeys and any animal for that matter.

the art installation looks very cool! And the fish tank is a cute addition!

Before I saw your comment about the art installation, I'd already thought that maybe it had produced quite a cacophony of sound, that people in their own world of pain mightn't have fully appreciated. Great minds. 😊

The two images of the fish trying her hardest to connect with you are incredible. Giving a glimpse of just how 'ancient' a creature she is.

From my observation, and there will always be exceptions, when people don't take care of themselves, as they start to get older something inevitably will make them. And if they don't listen to it, and take care of themselves with a 'healthy lifestyle' they'll have to rely on doctors and hospitals more frequently. Best to start while you are ahead ~ Even before you are given a gentle 'warning.'

It doesn't have to be all that horrible or hard to live a 'healthy lifestyle.' And the better one's health, the more enjoyable life becomes on all levels: physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

'Healthy lifestyle' can mean different things to different people, and at different times of their lives. But that's another topic again. 🦋

@lightsplasher after seeing your fishtank images I wondered if you may be interested in the Ten Days of Reflection Challenge.

I've nominated you in Tidal pools at Shellharbour. No obligation ~ Just if it coincides with something you may be presenting.

Really nice comment! Thanks for the feedback and nomination on the reflection challenge. I don't always have the time to be really consistent in my posting so it would be really tough to do it ten days in a row. It would be really nice to be able to do that though. I may take up the gauntlet, lol.

Pleasure. It would be wonderful if you could 'take up the gauntlet' and run with it @lightsplasher

I'm consistently inconsistent. Understand other commitments only too well. 😊

It really wouldn't be an issue if you missed a day here or there. No-one will be waving a stick.

There are so many interesting 'challenges' at Steemit now. I've never been into 'challenges' or any form of competitions in my life before. But taken as a way of exploring, experimenting and pushing one's usual boundaries, I can honestly say I've gained so much from doing them. 🦋

Nice photography
beautiful hospital lots of aquarium and also lots of ornamental fish, hopefully your friends get well soon.
Good post friend @lightsplasher
I upvote and resteem

Just dropped here, and took a lookaround of your photos, as your new follower. Fishtank in a hospital is a great idea, these little animals makes people much more relaxed. And I'm very curious of the sound-art. Have you recorded it? I have already experienced sounds also have healing effects. I have a shaman-drum with which I can heal myself and other people.

I think that gold fish is asking, "do you have anything to eat?" LOL. Very impressive and touching text as usual. It's a blessing to be able to help others as you are doing for your friend.

It sure is a blessing. I feel very fortunate in many ways. Thank you!

Could be they got tired of hearing it, or maybe the little motors needed servicing after so many years.

Wow they went all out with salt water fish! Not some cheapo goldfish there! Very nice!

Yes on one shoulder sits an angel telling me I need to be healthier. On the other side sits a devil that says life is short have some fun or eat what you like... The struggle is real!

The hospital is pretty nice. It is a struggle sometimes to do what feels right and I don't always know what that is. I hope that cures can be found for many more illnesses.

So happy you can aspire to have good luck in many years of life again. even want to have the best partner in life, because there are many people there who have broken all his hopes. Glad to know you, hopefully we become friends all the time, do not forget to visit my blog and support me as a loyal steemit friend.@miky

the fish is very beautiful ... and I really like ornamental fish. I like your post @lightsplasher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65726.71
ETH 2677.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91