You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 6 lessons we learned when moving off the grid and what we would do differently!

in #offgrid7 years ago (edited)

Thank you. All of this was actually my wife's idea. Took me a while to get into it, but I'm all in now! Best move we ever made. I've lived more in the last 10 years than I did in the previous 40. Looking forward to another 50 years of learning and experiencing life to the fullest! Peace to you @corganmusic!

We took the leap of faith!

Sort:  

Checking out your other posts, you guys really go into depth! I'd love to see more about the financials behind doing this. What do you do in free time?

I write! lol As for the financials, it all depends. If somebody was really creative at finding materials and resources, one could live off grid with very little capital. We started with lots but it ended up handicapping us as we used the money to buy solutions rather than getting creative ourselves. Our real learning started when the money ran out. We had to find ways to make it work without money. So scavenging, barter and other forms of revenue generation was in order to move the project along. Our Earthship is still not done, but it is coming along.

My mother-in-law joined us and we build a home with a solar system for $40,000. That is with us doing all the labour. I'll talk about that in another post, but the point is, one could get setup for much less than most people think. We built a tiny home with about $10,000 in materials. Homes don't have to cost hundreds of thousands of dollars.

A friend of mine just pointed me at your documentary and I've just started working through your blog posts. I love them and would love to have some land and get off the grid. Though to be honest I don't know if I could go completely off grid like you have. With that said I'm also curious about the financials, especially how you have land and not pay rent(taxes)? Maybe you've already blogged about it and if so I'll get to it as I work through your posts. Thanks again for sharing so we can all learn from you!

I am grateful that you are enjoying the blog posts. I've hinted at financials in other places, but in short, we currently have reduced our dependency on the grid to the point where we only need about $500CDN - $700CDN per month to live very comfortably. That covers phone bill, internet, fuel and the odd item at the store that we cannot grow or make ourselves. Otherwise, we are completely living on the land. I'll cover the other topics in other posts as they require a lot of explaining. <3 Peace to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66