Busy Day In The New Off Grid Work Shop

in #off-grid7 years ago

I am making a series of videos about how to go off the grid. I am taking my new work shop off the grid and recording every detail as I go.

I had a very nice and busy day in the work shop. I made a few videos as I installed my off grid solar power system in the new shed. I worked through and got both AC and DC power in my off grid work shop.

I also got the Quanta Q3 generator up and running on the new homemade work bench. This is running off a small 12 volt battery and the outputs are connected to my large off grid solar power battery bank. I am going to experiment and see how much power I can pull out of this thing.

I am also experimenting with super capacitors for starting vehicles. And I am testing some new products in my work shop.

During the weekend some friends were over and helped us work on the two homes on our property. We sealed off any leaky windows. We also washed all the glass in both homes. And I put in storm windows on half the windows in the trailer to help reduce the heating costs. Although it is spring we are still getting down to freezing temperatures at night. We actually had wind blowing through the trailer at times due to leaky windows.

We also made a compost bin using free pallets which I got in town. This was a simple project using 5 pallets. Now we have a double side by side compost bin which is already in use.

There was a lot of activity at the new homestead on the weekend and we got a lot done.

Thanks for watching. Please Subscribe & follow my daily YouTube videos

Read my articles at The Do It Yourself World

Sort:  

Congratulations @thediyworld! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Why are you up-voting your own posts, Troy? Sad.

This man is a fool. Please don't encourage him.

@oldcodge...there are several breakdowns and reasons it is smart to upvote yourself...at this point in the steemit community it seems to be a perfectly acceptable practice. That @thediyworld has been on steemit for a similar time period as you and has already earned himself a 49 reputation....to me says he is doing something right. perhaps you should upvote yourself...or even just make your first post...then after.....then start making judgement calls on how you want to conduct yourself.
but hey...Welcome to steemit....good luck...hope you find your way in YOUR way.

Thanks. I have been studying quite heavily about steem. Been some long, late nights. lol

By the way, oldcodge is only here to harass me. Any suggestions on how to deal with that? Does my answering his comments help him? He has spread some pretty nasty rumors about me and I hate to leave them unanswered. Its the reason so many turned against me. My silence seemed to them to be admission of guilt. Thanks.

do you know him personally...whats the deal....i even read through the blog of hate...i just dont get it. why are you being singled out. I live my life like an open book...so i would go for transparency. but i am not a scammer...so i guess it is for you to decide...obviously i dont know you and you could be anyone. I was enjoying your posts and found oldcodge's comment strange last night...so responded....now i see there is a larger ax to grind.
if you have done nothing and truly dont know this person or why he is attacking...id say lay it all out there. He seems ready to lay it all out there...but it feels disjointed and leaves me confused as to what the real issue is and how it started.

Not sure if you read my article where all his posts are? That pretty much sums it up. Everything started with a YouTube channel that started spamming mine to steal subs. He would say something like "Yeah, Troy made a chicken coop, but look at mine, mine is better". or "yeah, Troy put up a solar panel but check out my video, mine is better". I blocked the guy and never talked to him again. He started a one sided war against me and put together a three page list of all the crimes he says I committed against him and his family. He vows to destroy my life and wont stop till the day he dies. Thats the guy in the article I mentioned.

With time more and more people believed him and joined the group.

oldcodge said in the thread of comments that he is angry and calls me a scammer because he once sent me a hydrometer which is a bulb and a glass tube to measuring battery acid weight. I did a video thanking him. Did a couple videos using it. One day I set it in the snow. Everything was all snow. I had to shut off the camera and it had acid on it. He figured that was its final resting place and joined the group.

He said I scammed him and now he is one of the leaders of the group.

Their goal is a bit varied from person to person but the general idea it to destroy my life and get me off the internet forever. They say all they want is for me to get a normal job and leave the internet.

The ironic thing is that they have been contacting companies and local businesses for years everywhere I go. They get me shunned. I cant get a job.

It has resulted in vandalism and theft on our land, constant false reports to the authorities and more.

They will deny anything I ever say but its all on their website. Open for all to see.

I know its hard to believe. I know its nearly impossible to believe that all I did was block one guy and receive a gift from another guy. The authorities have never believed me either.

This group has even attempted to get my own family members fired from their jobs when I moved to MI in hopes of turning them against me.

I could not get a normal job now if I wanted to.

So I drive on trying to make a living online.

all I did was block one guy and receive a gift from another guy.

Just one? Troy, there are hundreds of people blocked from your YouTube channel. Some are "Trolls," some are former gifters, and some have just asked you questions you don't want to answer. Quite a few are just normal viewers who have seen through your lies.

I'm going to follow you around on this web site, Troy. You will wish you had never heard of me, although I'm sure you already do.

As for your lying, scamming, and misdirection?

IT STOPS NOW!

Get a job, you lazy bastard! I've never known anyone work so hard at not working as you do!

Isnt that funny. You do admit that I work very hard. yes. But yet you say its not working.

Funny that when I was slaving for others doing the exact same thing I am doing for myself now, you say that is working.

Why dont you do something useful with your life and leave my family alone.

Your friends disabled my only vehicle when my wife was 8 months pregnant. Your friends constantly turn me in for crimes I did not commit with evidence you guys make up yourselves. (Dont deny it, its all in the open on your forum).

Your friends spy on us and take photos of us and our property (also on your beloved forum)

Your friends have destroyed my life and are proud of it.

When is it enough?

And there are a handful of people who keep coming back with multiple accounts. Most with the same name on YT. I block them again and again as they come back, yes.

But you know that. Your friends brag about it openly on your forum.

Anyone who threatens or harasses myself or my subs gets blocked. Freedom of speech ends when it impinges on someone else's rights.

You work hard at avoiding a 9 to 5 job which would actually support you and your family, is the point that went completely over your head, numbnuts!

When exactly did you slave for others doing exactly what you are doing now? Who ever heard of someone getting paid for sitting indoors all day policing YouTube comments, apart from Google employees? Do you work for Google, Troy? No, thought not. You're too good to work for the man.

I feel I am doing something useful with my life, Troy. Warning people about you!

You disabled your vehicle by neglect.

You have been reported for apparent Code regulations before, based on evidence you showed on your own videos!
Where are these photos of you and your property that we have taken? Please send me a link to .sucks so I can find them. Pffft.

You have destroyed your own life Troy, by refusing to grow the fuck up and take responsibility for your own life. A 48 year old man who has to call his 70 year old mother to wipe a baby's arse and load a washer? WTF?

Poorly knee, my arse! Where's the plaster cast or the strapping? At worst, it's a bruise. Get off that minty friggin' sofa and shape the fuck up!

your parents gave you two vehicles- a truck that screams I'm gay and an old oldsmobile. If the truck failed you as your vehicles often do why not use the old car? I guess your version sounds more pitiful. Yep, you the victim as always

Here is my forum with the timeline and some screen prints of their attacks from years ago when it started. It has gotten worse since then tho. http://www.thedoityourselfworld.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=11353

Very convoluted stuff man. i dont know what to say...it all seems so crazy and unnecessary.
i came to your post because it was interesting to me. I enjoyed your breakdowns and info. I have no idea how you could end this. from my part...you have never done anything but put out posts that i like to read and watch...i will continue to do so. i read your side and his side....it is a whirlwind of confusion...very distant from my life. I have solar...you have solar...im interested in solar...you post about solar. that is where i am at. stay strong man...you will get my upvotes when i like what i see...as i have thus far.

Thanks. Forget about it. Watch my videos. Let talk solar and forget the rest then.

yeah...id say with me...as it is my choice to watch or not watch your posts....i am not worried about what he says...whether true or not...i watch or dont watch as i want. but i am not a judging person and can separate myself from issues that are not mine.
i guess from your side though...it would be individual by individual. if they are giving private messages to your followers...elaboration is obviously needed.
I think staying true to yourself and what you are trying to accomplish is the best thing. Saying you are open to answer whatever questions to whomever wants to ask...that seems it would help. a healthy mix between ignoring, pushing forward with quality content and addressing through calm open dialog.... any doubts that may be brought up.
In my case your good.
i was a victim of slander here in guatemala...so much so that my hotel was raided. they accused me of being a drug dealer and gun smuggler. they tore apart my office, went into all the rooms...20 police were at my place for 8 hours. They didnt find anything...for the simple reason that i dont sell drugs...and i dont smuggle guns...i run a popular hotel...but others in the town were trying to fuck me.
I fought back...i have cameras all through the hotel...i made a case against the police...as they went through guests bags...and this is illegal because they were private rented rooms and the search warrant had nothing to do with the guests....the whole search warrant was based on 2 noise complaints, an anonymous report and refusal to let the police enter the hotel when they came late one night and were seeking to harass my guests as they had before. (bribes are a huge reason cops want into a place)
there is a saying here in guatemala that i was told...and was proved true to me several times...and i think you will relate to as well.
---You can always tell when a person is being successful by the ring of people around them trying to drag him or her down. ---- stand strong, keep on keeping on.

@buttcoins
Oh, and another thing. Troy's latest "Off-Grid" excitement entailed him joyously unpacking a Washer / Spinner that some gullible company had sent to him, along with another well known Internet fraudster called Nomadic Fanatic.

Yep, a lovely off-grid washer. 110 volt 60 Hertz Alternating Current washer. He already owns a full size washer and dryer, but somehow seems to think it will be easier to wash 6 loads in a tiny plastic machine than to do one load in a normal size one. And he has a new born baby who he claims is using donated terry diapers... Bullshit all the way at the diyworld.

Still waiting for a look at your 95% off-grid setup, Troy. It's been a couple of days now, surely you could have thrown something together by now? What's that? You've hurt your knee? Call the Air Ambulance! Your wife has just recently had a six inch gash cut in her abdomen. You're supposed to be a man aren't you? So why have you called your Mummy to help you to wipe a baby's arse, and load a washer?

Get a job! Stop e-begging, Troy.

Get a life! Stop E-trolling @oldcodge....that could be a sign off for yourself as well.
here is a mantra for you.
my life is worth more than trolling DIY, My Life is worth more than trolling DIY.
repeat that until it takes effect. i have faith in you.

Here is my story I wrote on steemit. Basically you see some of the rants and some things they did to me. https://steemit.com/life/@thediyworld/my-story-run-out-of-my-home-due-to-harassment

@buttcoins
He is being "singled out," as you put it, because everything written about him at http://thedoityourselfworld.sucks is true.
Troy is one of the world's eternal failures. Nothing he has ever done in his life has amounted to anything. The only people who ever gave him an honest wage were the US Army, 20 years ago, and a house clearance firm in NY.
He refuses to work to support himself and his family, and relies on donations of cash and gifts from gullible viewers. Many of them, like me, are elderly or disabled "shut-ins," cat ladies, and dribbling idiots.

You don't sound like any of those. Ignore this joker. There are far better, more educational, entertaining, and informative channels out there.

Looking at his "solar" installation in his shed, would you let him loose in your hotel with a screwdriver?

but man...why are you wasting your time...who cares. there are so many eternal failures in this world. set yourself free. this is pointless here on steemit...and makes you seem like a twat. let it go...so many people suck...let him suck if its true. let us figure it out for ourselves. none of the things you say or that i found on that diy sucks site warrant this kind of campaign. it makes you seem way worse to me. i can understand a scammer... and what motivates them. but someone playing the good Samaritan for literally years...digging up all this scattered info...all because DIY is lying or scamming or getting undeserved donations or has a mail order bride and is talent less....what the fuck man...stop wasting your life. we are all adults...let us discover DIY as a scammer for ourselves. there are built in mechanisms for that here. we dont need your protection. you make me want to be his friend more than shunning him.... reading through your forum makes you and your group seem so sad... the biggest scammer on youtube....thats fucking retarded.
man...without much effort...you could find a completely new person scamming and deserving of your wrath. it time to move on. focus on something else...take a deep breath and give DIY the space to suck and have faith that if all these things are true...then others will figure it out for themselves....stopping pushing...get your own life in order...cause all this energy you have put towards destroying and warning about him...it says a lot more about you and the introspection that you need to do.
there are bigger fish to fry then DIY

Nicely put, and I agree completely. I remarked exactly the same just a few minutes ago, elsewhere.

There are indeed bigger fish to fry, but someone has to stand up for the little old ladies, the disabled etc. that he has conned.

Hopefully, the people here will see past the haze of his spiel, and realize that he has nothing of value to offer them.

Just don't encourage him. Which unfortunately seems to be the whole point of this web site. Self congratulation, and back slapping for fear of getting a down vote.

Good day, Sir. Enjoy your life while you still can. You could be disabled tomorrow...

but its been years man...i think he gets it...maybe he will just keep scamming as you say. but what if....what if...you already had your effect. what if he is planning to stop doing all the bad things you accuse him of.
if a bank robber gets caught and serves his time...is he to always be shunned for his whole life as a bank robber...a rapist, a murderer and what ever. at what point does a person get to redeem themselves. do you really think you are saving little old women and helpless cripples. that is a story for inside your head man.
step back...give him space to live...he came to this site...he puts up some videos. he hasnt begged once. and it wouldnt work in the normal way that you are thinking anyway. this is the blockchain man. nobody can hide from anybody. all things are public and open....i see everything you write...what he writes, what anyone writes...you can flag someone...but you cant delete there post. If he tries these malicious scams here...it will be seen...and dealt with by the community. You could pop in from time to time and just look if he is doing some nefarious begging besides asking for an upvote...which everyone does by the way. but stop poking into his interactions like you did with mine and his....
You dont need to protect little old ladies and cripple on Steemit...your mission is null here...that is not who is on this site.
Let it be. Let him be for a bit. he has offered to pay you for the device or whatever it was you donated him....take that...bury it. Move on with your life. And if in a few years from now...you see he is back at scamming...poke your head back in. but this relentlessness against him serves no one. For sure not here.
We are all crippled in this life...spiritually, physically, mentally...it is for this reason that we must give the space for our fellow humans to suck and err.
I personally have 5 fused vertebrae and cant work my right hand or right foot properly. i limp around my life getting worse and worse year by year. thats life...being a cripple and protecting old ladies is not enough of a reason to relentlessly follow and attack this man...even if all the things you say are 100% true.
after 4 years of this drama....its time @oldcodge let it go. See if your mission against him worked. He will obviously think twice about scamming someone again. at the very least leave him alone here on steemit. we are adults here on steemit, adults who can fend for themselves... we are not little old ladies in need of saving.

@buttcoins... Thank you Sir or Madam.

I am purely here to make sure that people here understand exactly the kind of character Mr. Reid is.

As you have surely noticed, he has failed to address any of my main complaints about him. No simple snap shot of his solar setup, never any evidence of the stream of nocturnal visitors to his home, and now, to cap it all, it is the sex offender and an innocent bystander who have burned him? WTF?

There is so much to see and learn about him, spread far and wide on the internet. Many spoof YouTube channels, newspaper articles, and a whole web site full of people he has pissed off or scammed.

Don't just take my word for it. http://thedoityourselfworld.sucks/forum/index.php/board,17.0.html

Actually there is some thing where you can auto upvote your own post when it is uploaded. Still learning about that feature. Still learning about a lot of things on here. Thanks for the kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97