Going analog: Winter scapes

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

I finally finished my third roll of Kodak. As I shoot my films with the Zenit TTL, I can't say that I am or will mainly using it. Still, from time to time, being in the back of the passenger seat, always with me, I can sense when a shot could use some grain.

And then is when I take the Zenit out.

28 shots I managed to get out of those 36 a canister holds. Not my personal best but hey! the lady behind the counter at the developing shop was impressed... again. She started being much nicer to me, especially after I managed to convince her to accept the rest shed was supposed to give to me when I left the roll to develop. There were something like 4 lei (less than 1 euro) that I thought would go a long way. And from my first impression afterwards, after all her "please, I can't accept..." cries while I was going out of the shop, I think I managed to bribe her. She's now inserting my film inside the camera "for safety", inside the dark room. At first she didn't even want to take the film out of the camera inside the dark room. But I guess that together with my good shots (sic!) and these 4 lei I bribed her good.

Nevertheless, I love what this film brought to me as well. Just like the ones before, it is very hard to focus and sharpen what the Zenit TTL and the Helios 44M are doing but nonetheless that lens is scattering the details in such a chaotic way that I couldn't see anybody or anything doing likewise on a piece of software.

I've been using this roll since late September of something like this. I'm not going shooting with this everywhere, but rather where I see patterns and texture, like sand, dirt, fog. I like to see how the grain resolves these issues I guess.

For today I took the shots from this winter, the best of them... or at least the ones that show a little snow in it. Some of them (like the one with the sheep) I can't even remember where or in what context I photographed. Because the span of time between them is quite long and because in some contexts I didn't use my digital camera as well, I either forget that I've even taken them or completely forgot where was I.

After every roll of film I develop, it becomes more clearly that my Zenit has an issue with the curtain in the left side of the shot. You can better see that in the last picture. Sometimes, like in this case, it may create a nice and asymmetric vignette. Still, this is an issue and I always say that I have to invest in a nicer film camera (this one is not even mine, I got it as a try on from a friend and I forgot to give it back, you know how it is!).

I guess the moment of separation is closing in for me and this Zenit TTL. If I will buy another, better shaped one, or another brand, that's a question to be answered...

**Posted also on my blog [www.ddma.ro](http://www.ddma.ro), a place on the world wide web where I'm trying to promote Steemit, my writings and my country. In that order. I post through the @steempress-io plugin and I make my life easier (writing and formatting in Wordpress is much easier than on steemit.com or busy.org)**
Sort:  

Love these photos, @vonaurolacu :) I think (maybe since I know these are analog?) ..... i think there's a feel of realistic grittiness to these shots. I love the colours and the quality of the focus' clarity (which is not super high definition).... Kinda hard to explain, but they feel more real than the super high definition shots that sometimes we see these days?

Aaah, anyway, I love them :)

Thans man! Ur words mean a lot. I guess that u also appreciate the mechanical way of capturing the light :) for the people that know to appreciate the age of the camera and the old ways of taking a photo, this combination (lens+camera) is cheap and it certainly gets there. More than that, film cameras compells the shooter to spend frames only on what he knows it’s really worth. In digital the simple press of the shutter has no value in itself. Thank you again for cheking out and for the kind words.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @vonaurolacu! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @vonaurolacu, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25