A Deep Condolences to the Victims of The Earthquake and Tsunami in Donggala and Palu, Central Sulawesi

in #nusantara6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Fellows!

image foto belongs to Ola Gondronk/AFP, source from BBC Indonesia


Another sad news came from my beloved country, Indonesia. Friday, Sept 28th. 2018, I watched the news, destructive Earthquakes at magnitude of 6 has happened in Donggala at 14.00 CT Indonesia, few hours later at 17.02 pm, more stronger earthquake happened at magnitude of 7,4 and this time a tsunami warning announced by the Indonesia's Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG). I saw it on TV, but 30 minutes later I saw that BMKG recalls the warning and amateur video recordings starts to went on viral from whatsapp groups, facebook and finally National TV stations. The tsunami hit on 17.22 pm, 15 minutes before the authority recalled the sign. what do you think people can do in 20 minutes after the earthquake to run away from tsunami? almost nothing but searching for other members of family and get out from the fallen buildings.

We watched the news until midnight and today the same videos still broadcast, except some TV station which broadcasts the Premiers League and Solidarity match to honour th victim of Indonesian Fanatic football fans last week. hundreds of people die, hundreds are still missing and thousands people displaced. the electricity power and communication network disrupted but aids from the nearest provinces such as Gorontalo and South Sulawesi are coming.

I watched the Videos by the people who record the situation and it break my heart. a beach festival was organizing at the beach when the 10 feet tall (3 meters) hit. I don't know what they're thinking when filming the tsunami but I thanked them that we all knew what has happened out there through it. hundreds of earthquakes still happening but not as big as yesterday and I could imagined how panick people there, remind me to what had happened in my hometown 14 years ago.

I hope that people already learned about the disasters because more than 4 times tsunami has happened in some parts of Indonesia coastal lines since 2004. I, myself learning about the system of Early Warning System in 2008, How strong and long the earthquakes, at the minimum magnitude supposed to be a cause of Tsunami, what should people do when its happened and where to go. I just couldn't help myself to shed no tears this time. I watch and watch every videos and I found a true hero at the story of what has happened.

image source

An Air Traffic Controller AirNav Indonesia officer at the Mutiara Sis Aljufri Airport, Athonius Gunawan Agung, passed away saturday morning (Sept. 29,2018), He helped the last Air Plane departures from the Airport right when the earthquake and tsunami hits, He was at the 4th floors tower and jumped out after completed his job. The Airplane succeed to fly and hundreds of people survived from the disaster, but he couldn't managed to live after the treatment for his deep wounded body. Rest In Peace Hero!

I've never created any posts like this with photos and sources from other websites before, but I want to record this on the platform, my deep condolences to the victims of the earthquakes and tsunami in Donggala and Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia. No.. I won't raise any donation from Steemit for the victims because I knew there're so many organizations already create a fundraising action including ACT, Aksi Cepat Tanggap, Thailand Government already sent their help too.

Pray For Palu and Donggala!

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you @filipino for your support

It is heartbreaking. My thoughts and prayers are with all those affected.

Thank you @melinda010100, the death toll has raising to a thousand now 😢 though this is not the first time tsunami hits Donggala, but Palu is more affected and there's a hotel with dozens visitors still under the debris, someone already safed by the SAR team this evening.

Yes its counted 1193 peoples by today @cicisaja

Do you know any Steemians that are in that area?

No @melinda010100, I don't think people in Central Sulawesi knows about Steemit, yet. But I'll check it out through the Indonesian Steemit Community later.

It is such a horrible tragedy.

It broke my heart away, what a suprised tsunami. My dua always for them, we lost brothers and sisters in Palu and Donggala. But we can act some help or delegate some help. And hopefully will recover everyone there..

Well.. I believe that more fundraising act has been taking by many organizations right now, perhaps If there's an opportunity to join the NGO team that I know since 2004, I'd like to join and working there to help the survivors.

Our prayers and thoughts with them. It is a terrible tragedy.

Thank you @marblely, the death toll keep increasing to a thousands and thousands still missing too. A whole village called petolo is burried in the earth now😢 the SAR teams running with times to save people out there.. we really need your prays

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13