The Old Dog Discovers: There’s Silver in Them There Mountains!

in #numismatics7 years ago (edited)

Ah yes silver, real money since the beginning of man’s history! I hate paper money. How can it be worth more than coins? Well, it’s not really worth more is it?!    

Spoiler Alert: At the end of the article learn how you can make money "playing a fun sport"!

In Switzerland I Can Still Find Silver Coins! It's Free Money!

 Here in Switzerland you can still find silver coins in circulation but not that many people seem to know or care! 1, 2 and 5 franc coins were made of silver until 1967 and were eventually demonetized. The 5 Franc coin was again minted in silver for one final year in 1969 after skipping 1968.

Of course when you find a silver coin it's exciting and it's obviously worth more than its face value! Have a look at the coins below:



The 5 Franc (about $5.00) coin in the middle is my favourite to find because it's the biggest. For comparison's sake I've put a 25 cent U.S. coin to its left and a 1 ounce Autralian silver coin to its right. Am I correct to like the biggest one the most?

It's Actually Better to Find The Smaller Coins!

Here are the melt values for the various Swiss silver coins at today's prices:

  • 5o cent coin: o.0671 oz (US $ 1.23) Almost 2.5  times its face value at todays melt price!
  • 1 Franc coin: 0.1342 oz (US $ 2.47) Again almost 2.5 times its face value!
  • 2 Franc coin: 0.2685 oz (US $ 4.94) Again almost 2.5 times its face value!
  • 5 Franc coin: 0.4027 oz (US $ 7.41) Hmmmm..... only 1.5 times its face value!

When it Comes to Swiss Currency Bigger Isn't Better!

Coin Roll Hunting in The USA

In the USA finding 1/2 dollar Silver Coins has long been a fun "sport" although it seems that those coins are getting tougher to find these days. Some have, in the past, made a nice little living off of finding silver coins!

If you are interested in looking at more information about the "sport" of coin roll hunting you can check here or here.

Fellow Steemers You Are Pioneers in The Currency Revolution!

Looking for Silver Coins is a fun sport but blogging on Steemit is even more fun and profitable!

Remember fiat currency is really just paper or worse. You are doing well by earning a digital currency called Steem. Remember, 1 Bitcoin is now worth almost the same as 1 ounce of gold. I got my first Bitcoin at $2.00 and I'm still buying! What will Steem eventually be worth? Who knows but I have been collecting it for free for quite some time now!


I hope that you enjoyed learning how to get free money "playing a fun sport"!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Oh, good times!
I'm glad you posted this; about 4 years ago a friend and I would get $500 boxes of US 50 cent pieces from the bank where a friend works.
We would put on a Netflix comedy special: Joe Rogan, Bill Burr, Louis CK, Ralphie May, etc), bring out a bottle of nice scotch, and go through the coins. The silver ones were easy to spot just by looking at the roll on it's side. At the time, silver was around $23 an ounce (now about $18.39). We'd usually find one to six silver coins per box, now worth between $2.78 - $6.80 each, depending on the year.
All told we found about $200 worth of silver, watching comedy, laughing and enjoying scotch indoors during the coldest winter months.
Good times!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends

Awesome!
Thank you 🤗
Great timing, I'll be posting more silver-related posts in the next few days.
Have a great week!

Following you now too! 😀

Great story and so exciting! Thanks so much for sharing it! Do I smell an article coming from you about that?

Absolutely!
Thanks for the inspiration 😉
Photos coming too of the small treasure trove of finds (we came across a couple of Franklins!)
@scan0017 ---> Don't miss the pics!

Great, I'm looking forward to it!

Silver money - honest money. Time it is not terrible.


I like to look for and collect coins. Especially silver.
The photo is one of my old silver coins in 1548.
My personal discovery. Thank you for the nice post.

Very nice! I like to collect them too. Those are really nice. Where did you get them?

Thank you. This is my discovery with the metal detector. I like to search for coins and all antiquity.

I'd love to try that! It must be very exciting!

It's fantastic. You never know that the find.

Wow. That's so cool! I bet you were excited when you found those!

I was very glad. I always dreamed of such coins. Thank you.

Thank you for sharing them! They added to this discussion, for sure!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends

We keep the US ones we find!

I still get a kick out of finding them. I've got some more loose change and silver stories for another time. Keep up your great work and attitude @papa-pepper!

I still have a few old silver coins... I've been doing bullion. Too poor for gold, I'm afraid so I've got about 40 lbs buried It's my "just in case fund"

Very good idea!

Thanks...And thanks for your generosity (but I'm not saying where my treasure is buried)

Loose lips sink ships!

@kus-knee inspiring!

I got my first Bitcoin at $2.00 and I'm still buying! What will Steem eventually be worth? Who knows but I have been collecting it for free for quite some time now!

same here - for free indeed!

Just fun times!

@kus-knee exactly!
and it's only here in Steemit!
which other platform has it ey?

What is the exchange rate silver coin vs. a small ear bone lol? ok that was a crap comment @kus-knee

Not sure but I go for bigger bones anyway!

good reply :-)

wow good mycket interesant thanks

in sf novel Metro 2033 the currency is bullets, real bullets :D https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metro_2033

I once went to an island resort in Cuba and the currency was tiny plastic coconuts!

wow...very cool the post Old Dog! Compliment! (;

Thanks so much my friend!

This is so cool! But, I think collecting them will bring a much higher value! Cheers Old Dog!

Thanks for having a look! It is fun and of course when I was a kid even more so!

Yes, I agree. It's more fun when you are a kid, and now it's fun too​ because you know how to appreciate the value of things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87