Stavkirke

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)


When reading @veryspider's post about the childhood memory contest, I immediately saw myself with white hair in front of a black stave church in Norway on a holiday with my grandparents. It must be a memory of my brother who had equally white hair (as most Danes do), but in this image I drew myself with my trusty teddy-monkey Little Anders.

The sketch was made with the mirror tool in Krita. Then I went over it with a large blotty krita brush still with the mirror tool on - finishing with a smaller brush and with the mirror tool off.

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4

Sort:  

[ nTOPAZ COORDINATOR ]

Hello @katharsisdrill welcome to nTOPAZ! We are impressed by the quality of your artwork, thank you for sharing your talent through nTOPAZ. We loved your publication. Congratulations!

Thank you for sharing a detailed step by step, we feel happy when we can see the love and dedication of the artists in their works. However, we would like to recommend that when you do your publication, put as the main image (1) the finished design, so that everyone can see it from the main page. Regards!


You want to learn more about nTOPAZ ?
Follow @ntopaz to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

I've seen similar type of old buildings in Stockholm, maybe at Grönalund, I can't remember. Like a traditional Scandinavian village.
Now I am just wondering about your process: would it not be just as fast if you did it "unplugged".

The medieval, wooden churches from Norway was an inspiration for the revivalist architecture in both Denmark and Sweden in the late nineteenth century, so a lot of buildings here looks a bit like these old churches. The Swedes have a a lot of wooden churches, but most of them is never and in alpine style :) In Denmark we scraped the wooden churches and built stone churches as early as the twelfth century, so we have the oldest churches. The wooden ones tend to burn sooner or later...

I guess I could do it almost as fast with paper and ink. the mirror tool is of course double speed. When the artwork is meant for the screen I like to make it on a screen, but I do make drawings and sketches with a pencil and it is just as fast.

The wooden ones tend to burn sooner or later...
I would be surprised if original ones even survive that long, never mind if they burn. Unless petrified ..... Cedarwood is the most resilient, but I have seen natural deterioration of totem poles in Canada during the time I was there, like from the late sixties to when I left in 2011, in Vancouver's Stanley Park and also

Victoria's Thunderbird Park.

Most totems left out in the open are no more than maybe 200 years old. Inside museums they are preserved under climate controlled conditions. We know more about the history of the Natives from their small slate carvings. I promised to post more from the Royal BC Museum (in my post, link above), but never did so far. Just for you - here is my album on Flickr:

ROYAL BRITISH COLUMBIA MUSEUM

maybe I will still do a post about it some time.

For digital art, I often use details from my paintings or drawings as a starting point. Dipping my digital brush into those, I retain some of the textures of the original (unless very distorted).
My friend Peter starts most of his work by digital plotting and then projects it onto his canvas.

Sick atmosphere! :)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

"Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16